McCullumsmith-CherylDr. Cheryl McCullumsmith, Director for the Division of Consult Liaison Psychiatry, has been featured frequently on local news broadcasts discussing coping strategies and normal behavior after the tragedy of the April tornadoes. On Monday, May 9th she was the featured doctor on “Ask the Doctor”-a weekly news segment of the Fox 6 mid-day news. Dr. McCullumsmith answered questions from callers on when to seek mental health care after a stressful situation like the one caused by the tornadoes in April. Through her role as Director of Psychiatric Emergency Services at UAB, Dr. McCullumsmith played a pivotal role in the UAB Emergency Room hours after the tornadoes hit our area.

Dickens-AndreaAndrea Dickens, M.D. is joining the UAB Department of Psychiatry as an assistant professor and Associate Training Director for the general psychiatry residency, upon the completion of her residency in June. Dr. Dickens completed her psychiatry residency with the UAB Department of Psychiatry where she has served as chief resident this past year.  She completed her undergraduate education in Biology from Arkansas Tech University and received her medical degree from the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences. Dr. Dickens will be joining the Consult Liaison Division and will focus on Emergency Psychiatry in the UAB Emergency Department. Please join us in welcoming Dr. Dickens to the faculty. She will be a great asset to the patients in the Emergency Department as well as to our department.

The UAB Department of Psychiatry held its Fifth Annual Research Symposium on April 12, 2011.  The event was a huge success!  54 posters were presented in the categories of Clinical Divisions, Faculty, Psychiatry Residents and Research Trainees. Winners from each category have been chosen and will be announced at the Graduation Banquet which will be held in June.

Pope-Rachel Ridgeway-Roger Hansen-Nathan

The Department of Psychiatry would like to announce that the following residents have been appointed Chief Residents for the 2011-2012 academic year.  They are Dr. Rachel Pope, Dr. Nathan Hansen and Dr. Roger Ridgeway.

Dr. Pope is from Marietta, Georgia.  She received her Bachelor of Science degree in Biology from Samford University and she received her medical degree from Mercer University School of Medicine.  Her Psychiatry interests are in Geriatrics and Child and Adolescent Psychiatry.

Dr. Ridgeway is from Pass Christian, Mississippi.  He received his Bachelor of Science degree in Biology from Troy Univeristy and he received his medical degree from St. Matthew’s University School of Medicine.  His Psychiatry interests are in Consultation Psychiatry and Addiction.

Dr. Hansen is from Auburn, Alabama.  He received his Bachelor of Science degree in Biology from Duke University and completed a Masters of Science at the University of Alabama at Birmingham.  Dr. Hansen received his medical degree from the University of Alabama at Birmingham.  His Psychiatry interests are in Adult Psychiatry and in the genetics of mental illness.

Please join us in congratulating these individuals as they take on their new responsibilities with their academic training.

Patricia-CornettPatricia Cornett, Ph.D has joined the UAB Department of Psychiatry as an instructor fellow.  Dr. Cornett is certified as a Psychologist and Psychological Associate.  She will work in the Adult Division with a focus on Alzheimer’s research.  Dr. Cornett also has research interests in depression, financial capacity and decision-making capacity in older patients with and without cognitive impairment.  Other interests are in the ethical treatment of elderly persons, especially those with compromised cognitive abilities.  Dr. Cornett has a B.S. in psychology with a minor in criminal justice from Tarleton State University.  She has a master’s degree in psychology from the University of North Texas.  Dr. Cornett finished her training with a Ph.D. in Clinical Health Psychology and Behavioral Medicine from the University of North Texas.  The UAB Department of Psychiatry would like to welcome Dr. Cornett to the faculty.  Her service in the Adult Division will be invaluable to the patients she assists.