O'Dell Delivers Cochrane Endowed Lecture

Rheumatoid Arthritis: Manifestations and Management

James ODellDr. James O’Dell, past President of the American College of Rheumatology, Chief of Rheumatology, and Director of the Medicine Residency program at the University of Nebraska, presented the 21st John and Margaret Cochrane Endowed Lecture entitled, "Rheumatoid Arthritis: Manifestations and Management" at Medical Grand Rounds on February 1, 2017.

The John and Margaret Cochrane Endowed Lectureship was established in 1981 by Mr. and Mrs. John T. Cochrane Jr., of Mobile, Alabama. The lecture series sponsors visits to UAB by scientists noted for their contributions to medical research. Dr. O’Dell is an internationally-recognized expert in the therapy of rheumatoid arthritis and founder of the Rheumatoid Arthritis Investigational Network (RAIN), a group of rheumatologists who conduct investigator-initiated trials to find better treatments for rheumatoid arthritis. This research network has pioneered the use of combinations of medications to treat rheumatoid arthritis, was one of the first groups to describe genetic factors that predict response to therapy, and has done extensive work with the use of minocycline in the treatment of rheumatoid arthritis. Dr. O’Dell has published extensively and presented frequently at national and international meetings and has more than 100 published articles in top level rheumatology journals.


Boland Awarded Posthumous Degree

UAB Confers Honorary Master's on Rheumatology Researcher

Molly BolandMolly Ellis Tyner Boland had a passion for research and new discoveries that made everyone around her work harder to live up to her high standards. Having lost her sister to the rare genetic disease Hemophagocytic Lymphohistiocytosis (HLH), she was determined to help patients and their families with diseases like HLH and Juvenile Rheumatoid Arthritis. After graduation, she continued her education as a UAB Graduate Biomedical Sciences student in the Pathobiology and Molecular Medicine theme, co-mentored by Chander Raman, PhD and S. Louis Bridges Jr., MD, PhD.

Her research focus was the mechanism(s) by which interferon-gamma contributes to the pathogenesis of rheumatoid arthritis in particular and autoimmunity in general. Her investigations showed terrific promise. She was published three times in her first two years of graduate school and was invited to present at the 2015 American College of Rheumatology Annual Meeting.

Molly was diagnosed with a rare genetic disorder in 2016, and she died at the age of 24 while at the NIH undergoing treatment. UAB recently honored Molly posthumously with an honorary master’s degree, presented to her husband Derrik Boland and her parents, William and Joy Tyner. .

Memorial gifts may be made in her memory to the William J. Koopman Arthritis Research Endowment at UAB.


Spotlight on Success

Congratulations to Our Outstanding Faculty and Trainees!

Maria Danila, MD, MSc, MSPH, and Archana Jain, MD, were both accepted as a members of the Southern Society for Clinical Investigation.

Nada Elmagboul, MD, a first year rheumatology fellow, was selected as a trainee on the NIH T32 training grant on Rheumatic and Musculoskeletal Diseases Research for her project on novel methods for ascertainment of gout flares and her primary mentor will be Kenneth Saag, MD, MSc.

Jennie Hamilton, a graduate student under the mentorship of John Mountz, MD, PhD, was selected to participate in 2017 St. Jude National Graduate Student Symposium in March. Jennie is one of 42 students selected from over 1,500 applicants to attend this symposium.

Jasvinder Singh, MD, MPH, Professor of Medicine and Epidemiology and Endowed Professor, Musculoskeletal Outcomes Research has been selected as a recipient of the Max Cooper Award for Research Excellence, the highest award for research in the Department of Medicine. The annual award is given to UAB faculty members whose primary appointment is in the department and whose independent research is nationally recognized.



Alarcon Newsletter

Save the Date!
Graciela S. Alarcón Lecture

David Pisetsky, MD, PhD
Duke University Medical Center
will present
Medical Grand Rounds on May 10, 2017
Rheumatology Grand Rounds on May 11, 2017.

Lowe group

Save the Dates!
Lowe Conference & CAMBAC

The 62nd Annual Lowe Conference will be held September 15-17, 2017

CAMBAC Research Day–Focus on RA will be held December 1, 2017.


Archived Newsletters


Spring 2018 Division Newsletter

Winter 2018 Division Newsletter

Spring 2017 Division Newsletter

Winter 2016 Division Newsletter

Summer 2016 Division Newsletter

Spring 2016 Division Newsletter

Winter 2015 Division Newsletter

Summer 2015 Division Newsletter

Spring 2015 Division Newsletter



SOM Epilogue Menu