Koopman2William J. Koopman, MD, Distinguished Professor and Chairman Emeritus of the Department of Medicine at UAB, has been selected as a 2010    Master of the American College of Rheumatology.  Dr. Koopman was named the third Director of the Division of Clinical Immunology and Rheumatology in 1983.  In 1995, he became Chairman of the UAB Department of Medicine.  In 2004 was the recipient of the UAB Distinguished Faculty Award and the President's Gold Medal, the highest award the University can bestow on a faculty member.  He served as Editor-in-Chief of Arthritis & Rheumatism from 1985 to 1990 and was ACR President from 1996 to 1997.  He is a member of the American Society for Clinical Investigation and served as its President from 1990 to 1991.  He is a member of the Association of American Physicians, and was selected as a Master of the American College of Physicians in 1999.  Dr. Koopman is a member of the Institute of Medicine and a Fellow of the Royal Society of Medicine. 

SOM Epilogue Menu