SIBS Students: 2012

Billy Joe (B.J.) Ammons, Jr. 
Mentor: Martin Young (meyoung@uab.edu)
Lurleen B. Wallace Community College
Major: biomedical science


Margaret Apperson
Mentor: Laura Timares (timares@uab.edu)
The University of Alabama, Tuscaloosa, AL
Major:  chemistry


Rebecca Duron
Mentor: Anath Shalev (shalev@uab.edu)
Auburn University, Auburn, AL
Double Major: microbiology and German


Morgan Jackson
Mentor: Karen Iles (kiles@uab.edu)
Villanova University, Wilmington, DE
Major: biology, Spanish minor


Tanu Patel
Mentor: Shih-Hsin (Eddie) Yang (eyang@uab.edu)
University of California-Berkeley, Berkeley, CA
Major: cognitive science, neuroscience emphasis (sophomore)


Lindy Pence
Mentor: Charles (Chip) Landen (clanden@uab.edu)
Wofford, Spartanburg, SC
Major:  biology


Rachael Sarrett
Mentor: Timothy Kraft (twkraft@uab.edu)
Samford University, Birmingham, AL
Major:  Premed/Psychology (junior)


Samantha Scanlon )
Mentor: John Jarboe, MD/PhD Student Mentor (jjarbo1@uab.edu)
Mentor: Christopher Willey, Faculty Mentor (cwilley@uab.edu)
Harding University, Searcy, AR
Major: biochemistry and molecular biology, minor in Spanish (junior)


Paige Souder
Mentor: Robert Mans, Postdoc Mentor (rmans@uab.edu)
Mentor: Lori McMahon, Faculty Mentor (mcmahon@uab.edu)
Samford University, Birmingham, AL
Major: biochemistry (sophomore)


Carly Twarog
Mentor: Sunnie Thompson (sunnie@uab.edu)
Pittsburg State University, Pittsburg, KS
Major: biology

SOM Epilogue Menu