SIBS Students: 2012

Billy Joe (B.J.) Ammons, Jr. 
Lurleen B. Wallace Community College
Major: biomedical science
Project: The Cardiomyocyte Circadian Clock Directly Regulates β-Hydroxybutarate Dehydrogenase Activity
Mentor: Martin Young (meyoung@uab.edu)

Margaret Apperson
The University of Alabama Tuscaloosa
Major:  chemistry
Project: The Role of Langerhans Cells in Carcinogenesis of the Skin
Mentor: Laura Timares (timares@uab.edu)

Rebecca Duron
Auburn University
Double Major: microbiology and German
Project: Identifying the Pathway by which Glucose Induces Cardiomyocyte TXNIP Expression
Mentor: Anath Shalev (shalev@uab.edu)

Morgan Jackson
Villanova University
Major: biology, Spanish minor
Project: Vitamin E Supplementation as a Strategy for Preventing Nosocomial Infections
Mentor: Karen Iles (kiles@uab.edu)

Tanu Patel
University of California-Berkeley
Major: cognitive science, neuroscience emphasis
Project: GSK3β inhibition protects healthy cells by repairing irradiation-induced DNA damage
Mentor: Shih-Hsin (Eddie) Yang (eyang@uab.edu)

Lindy Pence
Wofford College
Major:  biology
Project: Inhibition of the mTOR/PI3K Pathways to Enhance Sensitivity of Ovarian Cancer Cells to Chemotherapy Treatment
Mentor: Charles (Chip) Landen (clanden@uab.edu)

Rachael Sarrett
Samford University
Major:  premed/psychology
Project: Making New Photoreceptors from Retinal Pigment Epithelium
Mentor: Timothy Kraft (twkraft@uab.edu)

Samantha Scanlon
Harding University
Major: biochemistry and molecular biology, minor in Spanish
Project: Investigation of the Mechanism of Regulation of Proliferation and Radiation Sensitivity by the MARCKS protein in Glioma Cells
Mentor: John Jarboe, MD/PhD Student Mentor (jjarbo1@uab.edu)
Mentor: Christopher Willey, Faculty Mentor (cwilley@uab.edu)

Paige Souder
Samford University
Major: biochemistry
Project: The Role of ERK Phosphorylation in BQCA-mediated LTD in CA1 hippocampal neurons
Mentor: Robert Mans, Postdoc Mentor (rmans@uab.edu)
Mentor: Lori McMahon, Faculty Mentor (mcmahon@uab.edu)

Carly Twarog
Pittsburg State University
Major: biology
Project: Extra-ribosomal Functions of RPS25
Mentor: Sunnie Thompson (sunnie@uab.edu)

SOM Epilogue Menu