Lifetime Service Award

The UAB School of Nursing Lifetime Service Award recognizes individuals who have dedicated years of service to the School and its mission.  The recipient must also have demonstrated exceptional volunteer leadership through alumni-related activities and/or fundraising efforts on behalf of the School.  Recipients of this award are selected by the Dean of the UAB School of Nursing and will be recognized at the annual Alumni Night and Awards Ceremony.

The UAB School of Nursing is honored to present the inaugural Lifetime Service Award to Dr. Mildred L. Hamner for her sustained contributions to the School for the past 50 years. 

Dr. Hamner graduated from Druid City Hospital’s diploma nursing school and later earned her bachelor’s degree in nursing from the University of Alabama School of Nursing in 1960.  Soon Dr. Hamner returned to the School to receive her master’s degree in 1965, with encouragement from Dean Marie L. O’Koren and rose to the rank of full professor after going on further to receive her doctorate in education.  Dr. Hamner was a pioneer for the School of Nursing in many ways, including establishing new curricula for the School in the area of aging, in the up-and-coming field of gerontology. She was also integral in moving and establishing the School of Nursing in Birmingham to be closer to the hospitals.   Dr. Hamner served 29 years and under the School’s first three deans as a faculty member at the School of Nursing before retiring in 1994.

Dr. Hamner’s legacy and contributions extend beyond the many graduates she taught and mentored.  She has actively served on the Nursing Chapter Board of the UAB National Alumni Society for over 17 years, where her role has been valuable and instrumental.  Dr. Hamner has chaired the Nominations and Membership Committee and most importantly, the Scholarship/Awards Committee, where she has passionately served to provide nursing scholarships for our students for over a decade.

Dr. Hamner’s servant heart is admired and respected by all and we at the School feel honored to have her as a part of our rich history and progressive future.  She was recognized for this special award at the 2011 Alumni Night and Awards Ceremony on Friday, October 7th at 6:00 p.m. at the UAB National Alumni Society House.