Junior Board of Visitors

Group Photo revised for JBOV web
Established in 2006, The Junior Board of Visitors was created as a vehicle for a young generation of community leaders to make a contribution to nursing and nursing education through support of UAB’s School of Nursing. The Junior Board was set up in the same spirit as, with the aid of, and as an extension of the senior Board of Visitors. Two members of the senior Board of Visitors work closely as liaisons with the JBOV.


UAB School of Nursing
Junior Board of Visitors

Sidney Wood Clapp - Co-Chair
Kate Wood Hamilton - Co-Chair
 John Bankhead   Julia Williams King
Jim Beatty   Elizabeth Hassinger McCoin
Franklin Bradford   Dottie Mitchell
Gerry Cabaniss   Sarah Peinhardt
Mary Katherine Luckie Cabaniss   Webster Ray
Anna Bishop Cook   Elizabeth Riddle
Ginny Debardeleben   Laura Hale Robertson
Kelli Fleming   Augusta Hassinger Shearer
Tim Hennessy, Jr.   Ashelynn Falkenburg Smith
Carolyn Ross Jordan   Megan Spain
Erin Kattus   Kenneth Taylor
Emory Horne Kent   Angie Wood
  Junior Board of Visitors Liaisons:     Paula Midyette and Jean Tomlinson


Board of Visitors

BOV group shot for web
The UAB School of Nursing Board of Visitors, established in 1992, comprises a diverse group of leaders whose contributions of time, knowledge, and philanthropy serve as a cornerstone to sustaining excellence in undergraduate and graduate nursing education. Board members serve in an advisory role, communicate the School’s messages to the greater Birmingham area, and partner with the School in strategic fundraising activities.

2014 - 2015 UAB School of Nursing
Board of Visitors

Barbara O'Neal Eddleman, Chair
Douglas Tilt, M.D.,  Co-chair
Jane Arendall Eileen S. Meyer
John Beard  Anne Michaels
Kim Benos  Paula Midyette
Carolyn Boone  Pam Miller
Lella Bromberg George Perdue
Bruce E. Burns, M.D. Henry Ray Jr.
Zoë Cassimus  Donna Reddinger
Joy Deupree, Ph.D. Carol Sandner
Punky Eastwood Kay Scruggs
Juanzetta Flowers, Ph.D. Kate Sexton
Melinda Helveston Wanda Simon
Arlene Henley William Somerall, M.D.
Everett Holle Rita Spencer
Fay Ireland  Catherine Styslinger
Donna Jernigan  Leah Taylor
Margaret Kidd Jean Tomlinson
Sue Ellen Lucas  R. Edward Varner, M.D.
Robert E. Luckie III  Celia Wallace
Anita Smith Lunsford  Elizabeth Wallace
Barrett MacKay  Nancy Watts
Charles McCallum, D.M.D., M.D. Nancy Worthington
Nancy Meisler  
 Karl Falkenburg Lavona Rushton
 Rose Lee  Jeanie Sherlock
 Bobbie Parsons  Lanette Sherrill
In Remembrance
Elwynn "Chick" Hale, EdD Joie Jones
Joy P. Harbert Rita Kimerling
Minnie Gaston Jarman Lowder
Gloria Goldstein Howton Robert E. Luckie, Jr.
Maire Ingalls Alma McMahon