PAHO/WHO Collaborating Center Scholars

Faculty members and community partners who contribute to the work of the Collaborating Center can apply for recognition as PAHO/WHO Collaborating Center Scholars. The guidelines for the Scholar appointments are on the School of Nursing Intranet Site under “School-Wide Documents”.  The following faculty have received this recognition:

Mary Beth Bodin, DNP, CRNP, NNP-BC


Dr. Bodin has been a PAHO/WHO Collaborating Center Scholar since 2011.  Her clinical expertise lies in the Neonatal Intensive Care field as a Neonatal Nurse Practitioner.  She has been involved with several national and international initiatives where collaboration is needed in expanding knowledge in the global arena. 

She has been involved with NeoConnect, which is affiliated with the Joanna Briggs Institute in looking at Care Nodes for Neonatal Intensive Care Units in developing nations as an Expert Collaborator.  She has worked with an international student who traveled to UABSON for the International Leadership in Nursing Program and collaborated with her in writing a manuscript for presentation to a US peer-reviewed journal.  Dr. Bodin has kept in touch with this nurse as she is implementing her leadership plan back home in Brazil.  Dr. Bodin continues to make contributions to nursing on the global arena.