PAHO/WHO Collaborating Center Scholars

Faculty members and community partners who contribute to the work of the Collaborating Center can apply for recognition as PAHO/WHO Collaborating Center Scholars. The guidelines for the Scholar appointments are on the School of Nursing Intranet Site under “School-Wide Documents”.  The following faculty have received this recognition:

Carolyn Jones, BSN, MSPH, RN


Carolyn Jones has been a PAHO/WHO Collaborating Center Scholar since 2011.  She is currently a faculty instructor at UABSON leading the Clinical Research Management Specialty Option while at the same time working on her Doctorate of Nursing Practice.  In tandem with her faculty position, she has served as lead instructor/researcher on a National Institute of Health Challenge Grant entitled "Promoting Enhanced Research Capacity for Global Health (The PERC Study)".

In this study, 156 study coordinators from 50 low resource countries were trained in clinical research using distance-learning methods over a two year period.  In her role with PERC, she traveled to Peru in 2011 to promote distance learning and help students at the Universidad de Peru Cayetano develop research study plans.  She has published numerous training programs for research coordinators and their staff.  She is active in the Consortium of Academic Programs in Clinical Research (CoAPCR) working to develop core competencies for academic graduates of clinical research programs and in the Scope and Standards Committee of the International Association of Clinical Research Nurses.