PhD student receives United Health Foundation's Scholarship

 marcia lowe2Marcia Lowe, MSN, RN-BC, third year PhD student in the University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB) School of Nursing has been selected as a recipient of a United Health Foundation’s Scholarship presented by the National Black Nurses Association (NBNA).

Lowe will accept the award at the National Black Nurses Association’s Conference in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania on August 7, 2014.

Lowe was president of the Birmingham Black Nurses Association from 2005 to 2008. She also served on the NBNA Board of Directors and as the chair of the national membership committee from 2010 to 2013.

Lowe currently is employed by UAB hospital as an Advanced Nursing Coordinator in the Medical Nursing Division and works with nurses on the Palliative Care and GI/Liver Transplant units. The scholarship will assist her in completing the PhD program.

“As a lifetime member of NBNA, it is an honor to receive this scholarship. Nursing is my passion and I am excited to be on this journey,” said Lowe.

As part of the scholarship program Lowe will be assigned an NBNA-affiliated mentor to help her achieve her professional goals and aspirations. She also will be able to submit articles for publication in the NBNA newsletter and to speak at the NBNA conference. She also will work closely with her program advisor Pat Patrician, PhD, RN, and academic advisors Martha A. Dawson, DNP, RN, and Jennifer Coleman, PhD, RN, CNE.

The National Black Nurses Association’s mission is to represent and provide a forum for black nurses to advocate for and implement strategies to ensure access to the highest quality of healthcare for persons of color.



Student Spotlight: Jeremy Jordan helps revive NGSA

 jeremy jordanJeremy Jordan, a master’s student at the University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB) School of Nursing, has always been fully committed to achieving his goals and aspirations.

Originally from Mobile, Jeremy was never interested in organized sports as a child but his parents wanted him to take part in extracurricular activities. In 2001, his parents enrolled Jeremy in Tae Kwon do lessons. He loved the structure and technical aspect of martial arts and competed into his high school years, teaching and competing at the regional level. But at 17 a broken leg forced him to stop practicing the sport he loved.

With his Tae Kwon Do practice coming to jarring halt, Jeremy was eager to pursue a new path. During this transitional period he reflected on the aspects of martial arts that he enjoyed -- teaching children and making a positive impact on their lives. Deciding he wanted to continue helping people, Jeremy began looking at colleges and contemplating different careers options.

In 2008 Jeremy enrolled at UAB in the health care management program in the School of Health Professions, earning that degree in 2011. In the fall of 2011, Jeremy decided to enroll in the Accelerated Master’s in Nursing Pathway (AMNP) program in the UAB School of Nursing. He said his love for children and helping others made the transition into nursing a natural path.

Much like his dedication to Tae Kwon Do, Jeremy has been very involved in the UAB School of Nursing. Upon learning there was no longer a graduate equivalent to the undergraduate’s Student Nurses Association (SNA) he approached Stephanie Hamberger, MPA, director of student evaluations and scholarships, and with her guidance revived the Nursing Graduate Student Association (NGSA).

“Jeremy has been a positive role model from the moment he started the AMNP program,” Hamberger said.  He jumped at the opportunity to restart the NGSA and has done a spectacular job pulling a new committee together to better serve our graduate students.”

Now in his final semester in the Acute Care Pediatric Nurse Practitioner Program, Jeremy works as a nurse at Children’s of Alabama in the Pediatric Intensive Care Unit. He hopes to continue his practice as a nurse practitioner at Children’s after graduation. Jeremy says he plans to use his health care management background as well as his nursing expertise to help improve health care reform.

“I want to positively impact people’s lives, both through nursing and through health policy,” he said.


Maria Shirey receives FSU Distinguished Graduate Award

June2014 Shirey Maria. resizedjpgMaria R. Shirey, PhD, MBA, RN, NEA-BC, ANEF, FACHE, FAAN, professor assistant dean of clinical affairs and partnerships in the University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB) School of Nursing has been selected to receive the Florida State University (FSU) 2014 Distinguished Graduate Award.


Shirey is one of four awardees and will be recognized in the educator category. She will accept the award during the school’s Homecoming Week Friday, Nov. 7, 2014 at an awards dinner in celebration of the recipients’ outstanding accomplishments.

This is the second alumni award that Shirey has received. She was awarded the Alumni Legacy Leader Award from Indiana University earlier this year.

Shirey earned her bachelor’s degree in nursing from Florida State, her master’s in nursing from Texas Woman’s University, her MBA in executive leadership practice from Tulane University and her PhD in nursing science from Indiana University. 

Joy 2014 Grey Suit

UAB’s Deupree Selected for Highly Competitive National Nurse Fellowship 

Joy P. Deupree, PhD, MSN, APRN-BC, an assistant professor in the University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB) School of Nursing, has been named one of 20 Robert Wood Johnson Foundation (RWJF) Executive Nurse Fellows for 2014.

Deupree joins a select group of nurses from across the country chosen to participate in the final cohort of this world-class, three-year leadership development program designed to enhance the effectiveness of nurse leaders who are working to improve the United States health care system.


jennan phillips

Jennan Phillips appointed to Task Force

Jennan Phillips, PhD, RN, Assistant Professor and Director of the Occupational Health Nursing Program at the University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB) School of Nursing has been selected by the American Association of Occupational Health Nurses (AAOHN) and American College of Occupational and Environmental Medicine (ACOEM) to serve on a collaborative task force to examine workplace health and safety issues related to worker impairment from marijuana use.  

The task force will be responsible for examining current science related to marijuana use and determine evidence-based education and recommendations that can be used to support occupational and environmental professionals who consult with employers regarding the implementation of workplace health policies. The task force will meet regularly over the next several months

AAOHN and ACOEM are the two largest membership organizations for occupational and environmental nurses and physicians who focus on worker protection from injuries and illnesses, prevention of time lost from work and productivity, avoidance of potential health-related job loss, and other health liabilities.