Pryor receives 2014 President’s Award for Excellence in Teaching

Erica Pryor sized

Erica Pryor, MSN, PhD, associate professor in the University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB) School of Nursing has been awarded the 2014 UAB President’s Award for Excellence in Teaching.

Pryor was recognized during the 2014 Faculty Awards Convocation held at The UAB National Alumni Society House.


Alumna Cindy Cooke named president-elect of AANP

Cindy CookeCindy C. Cooke, DNP, FNP-C, FAANP, alumna of the UAB School of Nursing, has been elected president-elect of American Association of Nurse Practitioners.

Cooke earned her bachelor’s degree at the University of Texas at Arlington, master’s in nursing at the University of Alabama Huntsville and her doctor of nursing practice at the University of Alabama Birmingham (UAB).


PhD student receives funding for pilot study

Natalie Wilson cropNatalie Wilson, DNP, ANP-BC, MPH, AAHIVE, a current PhD student in the University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB) School of Nursing, has received $100,000 from the Veteran’s Administration to fund a two-year Nursing Research Initiative pilot study on the role of inflammation in symptoms commonly reported by HIV patients entitled "Gastrointestinal  Symptoms and Microbial Translocation in HIV+ Veterans."


On the precipice of a nursing dreamShameka Rogers Internal

Shameka Rodgers has wanted to be a nurse her entire life. The daughter of a certified nursing assistant, the Georgiana, Ala.-native spent time at the nursing home where her mom worked and developed a passion for helping others.


Dawson recognized for mentoring

martha dawson sizedThe seventh annual Graduate Dean’s Award for Excellence in Mentorship was presented April 16 to 13 professors who have demonstrated exceptional commitment to mentoring graduate students and postdoctoral fellows.

Recipients include Donna Arnett, Etty (Tika) Benveniste, John Chatham, Carolyn Conley, Lisa Curtis, Martha Dawson, Aaron Lucius, Kristopher Maday, Leslie McClure, Steven Rowe, David Schneider, Uday Vaidya and Hui Wu.