Faculty Directory

Anna F. Ablamowicz, O.D.
Clinical Assistant Professor
Department of Optometry
aablamow@uab.edu
205-996-6576

William J. Benjamin, O.D., Ph.D., F.A.A.O.
Professor
Department of Optometry
eyesert@uab.edu
205-934-6753

Claudio Busettini, Ph.D., Dr.Eng.
Assistant Professor
Department of Vision Sciences
cbus@uab.edu
205-934-2601

Jianzhong Chen, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Department of Vision Sciences
jzchen@uab.edu
205-934-8230

Katherine Clore, O.D.
Associate Professor
Department of Optometry
kclore@uab.edu
205-934-5700

Stephanie M. Cox, O.D., F.A.A.O.
Clinical Assistant Professor
Department of Optometry
smcox@uab.edu
205-934-2436

Champion CS Deivanayagam, Ph.D.
Research Associate Professor
Department of Vision Sciences
champy@uab.edu
205-934-6026

Lawrence J. DeLucas, O.D., Ph.D.
Professor
Department of Optometry
duke2@uab.edu
205-934-5329

Joseph B. Fleming, O.D., F.A.A.O.
Associate Dean for Student Success and Professional Relations
Associate Professor
Department of Optometry
fleming@uab.edu
205-934-5894

Marcela Frazier, O.D., M.P.H. ,F.A.A.O.
Associate Professor
Department of Optometry
mfrazier@uab.edu
205-996-2079

Michael R. Frost, Ph.D.
Research Instructor
Department of Vision Sciences
mrf@uab.edu
205-934-6733 

Roderick Fullard, O.D., Ph.D.
Director, Vision Science Graduate Program
Associate Professor
Department of Vision Sciences
rfullard@uab.edu
205-934-6746

Timothy Gawne, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Department of Vision Sciences
tgawne@uab.edu
205-934-5495

Marina Gorbatyuk, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Department of Vision Sciences
mgortk@uab.edu
205-934-6762

Adam Gordon, O.D., M.P.H., F.A.A.O.
Clinical Associate Professor
Department of Optometry
agordon@uab.edu
205-975-8545

Alecia Gross, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Department of Vision Sciences
agross@uab.edu
205-975-8396

E. Eugenie Hartmann, Ph.D
Professor
Department of Vision Sciences
eehartmann@uab.edu
205-975-3143

Oakley W. Hayes, O.D.
Clinical Assistant Professor
Department of Optometry
oakley@uab.edu
205-934-9113

Kent Keyser, Ph.D.
UAB Assistant Vice President for Research
Professor
Department of Vision Sciences
ktkeyser@uab.edu
205-975-7225

Robert Kleinstein, O.D., M.P.H., Ph.D., F.A.A.O.
Professor
Department of Optometry
vista@uab.edu
205-934-6757

Timothy W. Kraft, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Department of Vision Sciences
twkraft@uab.edu
205-975-2995

John M. Laurent, O.D., Ph.D., F.A.A.O.
Associate Professor
Department of Optometry
jlaurent@uab.edu
205-975-7783 

Sarah Dille Lee, O.D., F.A.A.O.
Assistant Professor
Department of Optometry
sdille@uab.edu
205-934-6902

Lei Liu, Ph.D., F.A.A.O.
Associate Professor
Department of Optometry
liul7788@uab.edu
205-996-6627

Michael Loop, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Department of Vision Sciences
loop@uab.edu
205-934-6751

Wendy Marsh-Tootle, O.D., M.S., F.A.A.O.
Associate Professor
Department of Optometry
wmarsht@uab.edu
205-934-5702

Jillian F. Meadows, O.D., M.S., F.A.A.O.
Clinical Assistant Professor
Department of Optometry
jfmead@uab.edu
205-934-6763

Sthanam V.L. Narayana, Ph.D
Professor
Department of Optometry
narayana@uab.edu
205-934-0119

Jason J. Nichols, O.D., M.P.H., Ph.D., F.A.A.O.
UAB Assistant VP for Industry Research and Development
Professor
Department of Optometry
jjn@uab.edu
205-975-3497 (Administration)
205-934-5109 (Optometry)

Kelly K. Nichols, O.D., M.P.H., Ph.D., F.A.A.O.
Dean
Professor
Department of Optometry
nicholsk@uab.edu
205-975-9935

Thomas Norton, Ph.D., F.A.A.O.
Professor
Department of Vision Sciences
tnorton@uab.edu
205-934-6742

Director, Residency Programs
Associate Professor
Department of Optometry
cbeesley@uab.edu
205-934-6635

Felton Perry, O.D.
Clinical Associate Professor
Department of Optometry
eiedoc@uab.edu
205-934-0875

Steven J. Pittler, Ph.D.
Director, Vision Science Research Center
Professor
Department of Vision Sciences
pittler@uab.edu
205-934-6744

Jamie Cason Reid, O.D.
Assistant Professor
Department of Optometry
jcason@uab.edu
Professor
Department of Optometry
lsemes@uab.edu
205-934-6773

John T. Siegwart, Ph.D.
Research Assistant Professor
Department of Vision Sciences
siegwart@uab.edu
205-934-6733 

Suzanne Simms, O.D.
Clinical Assistant Professor
Department of Optometry
ssimms@uab.edu
205-934-9113

Gerald Simon, O.D.
Clinical Associate Professor
Department of Optometry
gsimonod@uab.edu
205-996-4923

Janene Sims, O.D., Ph.D., F.A.A.O.
Associate Professor
Department of Optometry
jasims@uab.edu
205-934-0366

Lawrence C. Sincich, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Department of Vision Sciences
sincich@uab.edu
205-975-3446

Melanie Sivley, O.D., F.A.A.O.
Assistant Professor
Department of Optometry
msivley@uab.edu
205-975-5235
 
Om P. Srivastava, Ph.D.
Professor
Department of Vision Sciences
srivasta@uab.edu
205-975-7630

Elizabeth Steele, O.D., F.A.A.O.
Director, Clinical Affairs
Associate Professor
Department of Optometry
bsteele@uab.edu
205-934-9374

Christianna E. Strang, Ph.D.
Research Instructor
Department of Vision Sciences
cstrang@uab.edu
205-975-7222 

Mark Swanson, O.D., M.S.P.H.
Associate Professor
Department of Optometry
mswanson@uab.edu
205-934-6769

Tammy Pifer Than, M.S., O.D., F.A.A.O.
Associate Dean for Professional Studies
Associate Professor
Department of Optometry
tthan@uab.edu
205-934-2941

Michael Twa, O.D., Ph.D.
Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Studies
Professor
Department of Optometry
mtwa@uab.edu
205-934-6724

Katherine K. Weise, O.D., M.B.A., F.A.A.O.
Associate Professor
Department of Optometry
kweise@uab.edu
205-934-8964