COPE Representatives

COPE Representatives Name Email
Schools    
School of Dentistry Dr. Kohtaro Fujihashi kohtarof@uab.edu 
School of Engineering Dr. Jack Rogers jrogers@uab.edu
School of Health Related Professions Dr. Tim Nagy tnagy@uab.edu
School of Medicine Dr. Harald Schroeder hwsj@uab.edu 
College of Arts & Science Dr. David C. Schwebel schwebel@uab.edu   
School of Optometry Dr. Tom Norton tnorton@uab.edu  
School of Public Health Dr. Eric Chamot echamot@uab.edu
School of Nursing Dr. Patricia A. Patrician ppatrici@uab.edu
Professional Development Program/Educational Services Dr. Julia Austin jaustin@uab.edu
International Scholar and Student Services Ms. Lisa Townsend ltownsend@ub.edu   
Office of Equity and Diversity Dr. Carolyn Braswell cbraswel@uab.edu  

Center for Clinical and Translational Science (CCTS) 

Ms. Melissa McBrayer mmcbrayer@uasom.uab.edu
Southern Research Institute Dr. Bo Xu xu@sri.org
Career Services Suzanne Scott-Trammell sstrammell@uab.edu
PDA Executive Board    
Chair Dr. Teruko Bredemann

tmbredem@uab.edu

Vice Chair Dr. Jessica Grunda jmgrunda@uab.edu
Secretary vacant position  
PDA Newsletter Co-Editor

Dr. Tanecia Mitchell

taneciam@uab.edu

PDA Newsletter Co-Editor

vacant position

 
PDA Newsletter Co-Editor

vacant position

 
Social Media (including LinkedIN and Facebook)

vacant position

 
Social Media (including LinkedIN and Facebook) Dr. Bertha Hidalgo

bhidalgo@uab.edu

Postdoc Research Day Committee vacant position  
Postdoc Research Day Committee Dr. Jessica Grunda

jmgrunda@uab.edu

Balance in Science Committee Dr. Teruko Bredemann tmbredem@uab.edu
Balance in Science Committee Dr. Jennifer McLarty jmclarty@uab.edu
Balance in Science Committee Dr. LaToya Paul lpaul08@uab.edu
Graduate School Dr. Susan Rich srich@uab.edu
  Dr. Bryan Noe bnoe@uab.edu

Postdocs in UAB News

  • Stephen Carter will attend the Experimental Biology Conference in late March to receive his award.Stephen J. Carter, Ph.D., postdoctoral fellow in the University of Alabama at Birmingham Department of Human Studies and the Nutrition Obesity Research Center, has been awarded the American Physiological Society’s Environmental and Exercise Physiology (EEP) section Partnership for Clean Competition New Investigator Award. The award recognizes outstanding experimental research in environmental, exercise or thermal physiology by a postdoctoral fellow involving ergogenics and detection...

  • Poster sessions and guest lecturers celebrate Darwin’s legacy.To honor the 206th birthday of legendary evolutionary biologist Charles Darwin, the University of Alabama at Birmingham will host Darwin Day on Thursday, Feb. 12, and Friday, Feb. 13. The events will celebrate scientific research in evolutionary biology and other disciplines. “Charles Darwin’s great discovery, the principle of natural selection, is more relevant to science than ever before,” said Steven Austad, Ph.D., chair of the Department of Biology. “For...

UAB Research News

  • Previous research indicated six weeks of treatment improved hearing, but new findings published in the New England Journal of Medicine reveal six months is better.Babies treated for symptomatic cytomegalovirus (CMV) infection for six months, instead of the standard six weeks, have better hearing and developmental outcomes, according to a new study from the University of Alabama at Birmingham. One in 150 babies will be born with CMV, and about one of every five of those children...

  • UAB is testing a tablet-based decision aid in hopes of improving outcomes for minority women with lupus and kidney diseaseJasvinder SinghResearchers at the University of Alabama at Birmingham are enrolling patients for a study designed to help minority women with lupus nephritis make informed decisions on their treatment. The study is funded by the Patient-Centered Outcomes Research Institute. The investigators have developed a computer tool called a decision aid to help doctors and their African-American and...