COPE Representatives

COPE Representatives Name Email
Schools    
School of Dentistry Dr. Kohtaro Fujihashi kohtarof@uab.edu 
School of Engineering Dr. Jack Rogers jrogers@uab.edu
School of Health Related Professions Dr. Tim Nagy tnagy@uab.edu
School of Medicine Dr. Harald Schroeder hwsj@uab.edu 
College of Arts & Science Dr. David C. Schwebel schwebel@uab.edu   
School of Optometry Dr. Tom Norton tnorton@uab.edu  
School of Public Health Dr. Eric Chamot echamot@uab.edu
School of Nursing Dr. Patricia A. Patrician ppatrici@uab.edu
Professional Development Program/Educational Services Dr. Julia Austin jaustin@uab.edu
International Scholar and Student Services Ms. Lisa Townsend ltownsend@ub.edu   
Office of Equity and Diversity Dr. Carolyn Braswell cbraswel@uab.edu  

Center for Clinical and Translational Science (CCTS) 

Ms. Melissa McBrayer mmcbrayer@uasom.uab.edu
Southern Research Institute Dr. Bo Xu xu@sri.org
Career Services Suzanne Scott-Trammell sstrammell@uab.edu
PDA Executive Board    
Chair Dr. Teruko Bredemann

tmbredem@uab.edu

Vice Chair Dr. Jessica Grunda jmgrunda@uab.edu
Secretary vacant position  
PDA Newsletter Co-Editor

Dr. Tanecia Mitchell

taneciam@uab.edu

PDA Newsletter Co-Editor

vacant position

 
PDA Newsletter Co-Editor

vacant position

 
Social Media (including LinkedIN and Facebook)

vacant position

 
Social Media (including LinkedIN and Facebook) Dr. Bertha Hidalgo

bhidalgo@uab.edu

Postdoc Research Day Committee vacant position  
Postdoc Research Day Committee Dr. Jessica Grunda

jmgrunda@uab.edu

Balance in Science Committee Dr. Teruko Bredemann tmbredem@uab.edu
Balance in Science Committee Dr. Jennifer McLarty jmclarty@uab.edu
Balance in Science Committee Dr. LaToya Paul lpaul08@uab.edu
Graduate School Dr. Susan Rich srich@uab.edu
  Dr. Bryan Noe bnoe@uab.edu

Postdocs in UAB News

  • Poster sessions and guest lecturers celebrate Darwin’s legacy.To honor the 206th birthday of legendary evolutionary biologist Charles Darwin, the University of Alabama at Birmingham will host Darwin Day on Thursday, Feb. 12, and Friday, Feb. 13. The events will celebrate scientific research in evolutionary biology and other disciplines. “Charles Darwin’s great discovery, the principle of natural selection, is more relevant to science than ever before,” said Steven Austad, Ph.D., chair of the Department of Biology. “For...

  • Precious time is lost waiting for laboratory test results for people battling this infection. With the help of medical device startup Kypha Inc., one UAB researcher’s work could change this.Theresa Ramos and Scott BarnumMeningitis research efforts two decades in the making could soon come to fruition through a partnership between investigators at the University of Alabama at Birmingham and a medical device startup, with assistance from the UAB Institute for Innovation and Entrepreneurship. Laboratory test results...

UAB Research News

  • A UAB researcher is looking for clues in the cell walls of fungi to alleviate severe fungal reactions in patients with asthma.Many persons with asthma are also allergic to common fungi and mold, and a reaction to those allergens can exacerbate asthma symptoms. Researchers from the University of Alabama at Birmingham have received a $1.75 million, four-year grant from the National Heart, Lung and Blood Institute, one of the National Institutes of Health, to better...

  • In celebration of Black History Month, the talented students of ArtPlay’s Make It Happen Performing Ensemble will perform the original play “The Clever George Washington Carver.”Birmingham teens will pay homage to a giant in Alabama history with the premiere of the ArtPlay original play “The Clever George Washington Carver” on Saturday, Feb. 21. The talented young actors of ArtPlay’s Make It Happen Performing Ensemble will celebrate the life of Carver, who was born into slavery in...