COPE Representatives

COPE Representatives Name Email
Schools    
School of Dentistry Dr. Kohtaro Fujihashi kohtarof@uab.edu 
School of Engineering Dr. Jack Rogers jrogers@uab.edu
School of Health Related Professions Dr. Tim Nagy tnagy@uab.edu
School of Medicine Dr. Harald Schroeder hwsj@uab.edu 
College of Arts & Science Dr. David C. Schwebel schwebel@uab.edu   
School of Optometry Dr. Tom Norton tnorton@uab.edu  
School of Public Health Dr. Eric Chamot echamot@uab.edu
School of Nursing Dr. Patricia A. Patrician ppatrici@uab.edu
Professional Development Program/Educational Services Dr. Julia Austin jaustin@uab.edu
International Scholar and Student Services Ms. Lisa Townsend ltownsend@ub.edu   
Office of Equity and Diversity Dr. Carolyn Braswell cbraswel@uab.edu  

Center for Clinical and Translational Science (CCTS) 

Ms. Melissa McBrayer mmcbrayer@uasom.uab.edu
Southern Research Institute Dr. Bo Xu xu@sri.org
Career Services Suzanne Scott-Trammell sstrammell@uab.edu
PDA Executive Board    
Chair Dr. Teruko Bredemann

tmbredem@uab.edu

Vice Chair Dr. Jessica Grunda jmgrunda@uab.edu
Secretary vacant position  
PDA Newsletter Co-Editor

Dr. Tanecia Mitchell

taneciam@uab.edu

PDA Newsletter Co-Editor

vacant position

 
PDA Newsletter Co-Editor

vacant position

 
Social Media (including LinkedIN and Facebook)

vacant position

 
Social Media (including LinkedIN and Facebook) Dr. Bertha Hidalgo

bhidalgo@uab.edu

Postdoc Research Day Committee vacant position  
Postdoc Research Day Committee Dr. Jessica Grunda

jmgrunda@uab.edu

Balance in Science Committee Dr. Teruko Bredemann tmbredem@uab.edu
Balance in Science Committee Dr. Jennifer McLarty jmclarty@uab.edu
Balance in Science Committee Dr. LaToya Paul lpaul08@uab.edu
Graduate School Dr. Susan Rich srich@uab.edu
  Dr. Bryan Noe bnoe@uab.edu

UAB Research News

  • UAB researchers are investigating game-based verification that may improve computer security and reduce user frustration compared to typical “type-what-you-see” CAPTCHA tools that use static images.CAPTCHA services that require users to recognize and type in static distorted characters may be a method of the past, according to studies published by researchers at the University of Alabama at Birmingham. CAPTCHAs represent a security mechanism that is often seen as a necessary hassle by Web services providers — necessary...

  • UAB Distinguished Professor’s editorial highlights research efforts exploring low-sodium intake guidelines and implications on cardiac disease and mortality.Recent studies suggest national dietary guidelines for sodium intake are unrealistic, and that the recommended level of sodium could be associated with a higher risk of cardiac disease and mortality. In an invited New England Journal of Medicine editorial, “Low Sodium — Cardiovascular Health Benefit or Risk?” University of Alabama at Birmingham Distinguished Professor of Medicine Suzanne Oparil, M.D.,...