During Thursday’s President’s Liaison Committee meeting with many members of the University of Alabama System Board of Trustees, USGA President Garrett Stephens, Faculty Senate Representative Dr. Pam Paustian, UAB’s Nationalnew cityscape 2014 02 Alumni Society Past President Wes Smith, and many valued community supporters, I had the distinct pleasure of providing a review of the many accomplishments that have taken place at UAB over the last year.

Just last week, UAB received official notification from the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) that we successfully completed the reaffirmation process of accreditation during the 2015 cycle. Our academic programs continue to be ranked highly among universities across the nation and globe
because of the faculty’s dedication to the highest standards in teaching and their tremendous record of groundbreaking research. Our students have excelled in the classroom, garnered more accolades, and completed more hours of community outreach and service than ever before. Our staff members have continued to make UAB an amazing place by daily demonstrating their commitment to excellence across our education and healthcare missions. Community leaders in attendance asked how they could demonstrate their appreciation of the student body, and a faculty suggestion was made to host a speaker series for the university community. Our partnerships with the City of Birmingham, the Birmingham Business Alliance, Jefferson County, and our state legislators are only getting stronger and propelling Alabama and Birmingham into the future. We are on the verge of more opportunity than ever before, and because of our collective and concerted efforts, I have no doubt that we are all poised for even greater successes in the coming year.

Attending the meeting were:

Allen Bolton, UAB
Michael Bownes, Board of Trustees Secretary
Tommy Brigham, community leader
Karen Brooks, Board of Trustees President Pro Tempore
Anne Buckley, UAB
Tony Davis, community leader
Boots Gale, community leader
Mike Goodrich, community leader
Ray Hayes, Executive Vice Chancellor
John Johns, Board of Trustees
Vanessa Leonard, Board of Trustees
John McMahon, community leader
Kate Nielsen, community leader
Pam Paustian, UAB Faculty Senate Representative
Charlie Perry, community leader
Clay Ryan, UA System
Britt Sexton, Board of Trustees
Wes Smith, UAB National Alumni Society Past President & community leader
Garrett Stephens, UAB USGA president
Ray Watts, UAB President
Jim Wilson, Board of Trustees
Robert Witt, Chancellor