Classes

Advanced special topics course in metabolomics 2018
(GBSC 724)

Course Description

Course will be held on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays 9-10:30 am in the SHELBY 1015

Tentative Schedule

Date Lecturer Topic
Jan 8, Mon S. Barnes Transition from metabolism to metabolomics and targeted/untargeted approaches [PDF File]
Jan 10, Wed B. Korf The Undiagnosed Disease Network
[Reference-1] [Reference-2] [Reference-3] [Reference-4]
Jan 12, Fri S. Barnes The extraordinary chemistry of the metabolome [PDF File]
Jan 15, Mon   Martin Luther King Holiday
Jan 17, Wed H Tiwari Designing a complex metabolomics experiment - Cancelled
Jan 19, Fri S. Barnes/
J. Prasain
Extracting the metabolome (fluids, cells and tissues) [PDF File]
Jan 22, Mon C. Petit The platform - fundamentals in NMR and metabolomics [PDF File]
Jan 24, Wed S. Barnes The platform - GC- and LC-mass spectrometry [PDF File]
Jan 26, Fri S. Barnes Examining GC-/LC-MS data with MZmine 2.29
[PDF File 1] [Video] [PDF File 2]
Jan 29, Mon S. Barnes Uploading GC-MS and LC-MS data to XCMSonline
Jan 31, Wed D. Sharer Targeted metabolomics for congenital disease in children [Referece - Please use UAB VPN to download the file.] [PDF File]
Feb 2, Fri H Tiwari Designing a complex metabolomics experiment [PDF File]
Feb 5, Mon S. Barnes Output of XCMS features for univariate analysis [PDF File]
Feb 7, Wed S. Barnes Statistical analysis of XCMS data with MetaboAnalyst [PDF File]
Feb 9, Fri RTI Intl team Processing NMR data [PDF File] [CSV File 1 ] [CSV File 2] [CSV File 3]
Feb 12, Mon S. Barnes Pathway databases [PDF File]
Feb 14, Wed S. Barnes MS-DIAL software for data analysis
Feb 16, Fri S. Barnes The metabolomics workbench
Feb 19, Mon   Student presentations
Feb 21, Wed J. Prasain MSMS of small molecules - interpretation [PDF File]
Feb 23, Fri J. Prasain Validating metabolites
Feb 26, Mon S. Barnes Isotopically labeled precursors to identify metabolites
Feb 28, Wed S. Barnes Isotopes and pathway dynamics
Mar 2, Fri   Student presentations
Mar 5, Mon S. Barnes Mummichog analysis of data
Mar 7, Wed J. Prasain Advanced methods: SWATH-MS, Ion Mobility and LC-MS for lipidomics
Mar 9, Fri J. Prasain Lipid maps database
Mar 12, Mon J Kabarowski Lipid imaging-mass spectrometry
Mar14, Wed J. Prasain Novel prostanoid molecules
Mar16, Fri M. Stoll
C. Martin
Metabolomics in models of cardiovascular disease
Mar 19, Mon   Student presentations
Mar 21, Wed TBA TBA
Mar 23, Fri S. Barnes In situ lipidomics in the surgical suite
Mar 26,Mon H. Wu The microbiome and metabolomics
Mar 28, Wed K. Uppal* Integrating the metabolome with the genome, transcriptome and proteome
Mar 30, Fri   FINAL exam due

* Dr. Uppal is from Emory University