The development of the Honors College is a top priority for UAB. An Honors College Oversight Committee was assembled to study university best practices with the goal of improving the Honors experience for all students. The committee has concluded that significant investment and appropriate leadership structure will be necessary to achieve our goals for the Honors College.

After a thorough review in close consultation with the UAB Honors College Oversight Committee, UAB will create the position of dean of the Honors College to oversee all aspects of Honors College management and development. A search for a permanent dean for the Honors College will begin immediately. Dean Robert Palazzo has agreed to chair the search.

Members of the Honors College Dean Search Committee are:

Chair – Robert Palazzo, Ph.D.
Dean, College of Arts & Sciences

Hal Abroms
Community Leader

Ameen Barghi
Undergraduate Student in Neuroscience. Honors College Student

Henna Budhwani, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor in Public Health and Deputy Director, Sparkman Center for Global Health

Donald Burke, Ph.D.
Instructor in the School of Engineering, Honors College Alumnus

Janelle Chiasera, Ph.D.
Professor, Department of Clinical & Diagnostic Science

Catherine Danielou, Ph.D.
Associate Professor and Senior Associate Dean, College of Arts & Sciences

Ashley Floyd
Interim Assistant Director and Director of National Fellowships and Scholarships, Honors College

Rebecca Gordon
Associate Vice President for Development

James McClintock, Ph.D.
Endowed Professor of UAB Polar and Marine Biology, Department of Biology

Kathryn Morgan, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Department of Justice Sciences and Director, African American Studies

Cynthia Ryan, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Department of English

Susan Spezzini, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction

Molly Wasko, Ph.D.
Associate Professor and Chairperson, Department of Management, Information Systems, & Quantitative Methods

Ad Hoc Members

Dr. Suzanne Austin, Ph.D.
Vice Provost for Student & Faculty Success

Dr. Linda Lucas, Ph.D.