Faculty and Staff

Name   Position Phone
Floyd Josephat, Ed.D.   Program Director, Associate Professor 205-934-1348
Fred (Ted) Bertrand, PhD
  Associate Professor 205-934-1374
Brianna Miller, MS, MLS(ASCP)cm   Assistant Professor 205-934-5995
Melissa Chase, MS   Teacher 205-934-5996
Ana Lucia Oliveira, DrPH   Assistant Professor 205-934-5988
Tera Webb, MS, MLS(ASCP)cm   Teacher 205-934-5985

Advisory Board

Carol Ferguson, MT (ASCP)
Laboratory Director
DCH Regional Medical Center
  Sherry Polhill, MBA, MT(ASCP)
Director, Laboratory
University of Alabama at Birmingham

Kelley P. Mitcham, BS, MT(ASCP)
Administrative Director - LabFirst
Trinity Medical Center

  Vicky McClain, MT(ASCP)
Adm. Director of the Clinical Laboratory
Huntsville Hospital

MaryAnn Floyd, MS, MT(ASCP)
Divisional Director
Children’s Hospital of Alabama

  Penny Vance-Colburn, MT(ASCP), NCA
Laboratory Director
UAB Medical West

Stephen O’Connor, PhD
Professor, Health Adm. Program
University of Alabama at Birmingham

  Ina Walker, MT(ASCP)
Chief Medical Technologist
VA Medical Center Laboratory

Rita Kelly, MBA, MT(ASCP)
Lab Manager
Brookwood Medical Center

  Mel-Marie Diaz-Datka, MT(ASCP)
Quality Control Specialist, UAB Laboratory
University of Alabama at Birmingham

Jennifer Lowe, MT(ASCP)
Pickens County Medical Center

  Janelle M. Chiasera, PhD, MT(ASCP)
Professor and Chair
Department of Clinical & Diagnostic Science

Anthony Patterson, FACHE
Senior Vice President and CEO
UAB Highlands
  John Smith, PhD, MD, DSc
Professor & Director, Pathology