SHP Dean's Advisory Board

The School of Health Professions Dean's Advisory Board works in partnership with the dean to advance the school toward its goals of excellence and achievement in education, research, and service. Recognizing the importance of health professions education and the continuing interest of alumni and both government and industry leaders, the board is dedicated to the creative development of the School of Health Professions.

The membership consists of business and community leaders drawn from a wide variety of backgrounds that mirrors the diversity of the school’s five departments: Clinical and Diagnostic Sciences, Health Services Administration, Nutrition Sciences, Occupational Therapy and Physical Therapy.


Dean’s Advisory Board Members

Mark Anderson, D.Sc. (MSHA Class 14, D.Sc. ‘13)
Senior Vice President
Tampa General Hospital
Tampa, Florida

Jeffrey D. Bowman
Vice President, Home Care Sales
McKesson Medical-Surgical
Brentwood, Tennessee

Christopher M. Brainard (MSHA Class 42)
Director, Organizational Excellence and Patient Experience
UAB Health System
Birmingham, Alabama

Jim Burkhart, D.Sc. (MSHA Class 13, D.Sc. ‘13)
President and Chief Executive Officer
Tampa General Hospital
Tampa, Florida 

Dexanne B. Clohan, M.D. 
Senior Vice President and Chief Medical Officer
Birmingham, Alabama

Vicki P. Karolewics, Ph.D.
Wallace State Community College
Hanceville, Alabama

Thomas D. Miller
President, Division 5 
Community Health Systems 
Franklin, Tennessee

William T. Mills, III
Highland Associates, Inc.
Birmingham, Alabama

Matthew D. Rousculp, Ph.D., MPH (Ph.D. ’02, MPH ’94) 
Senior Director, Government & Medical Policy 
Raleigh-Durham, North Carolina

Kerry Teel, MSHA (MSHA Class 8)
Premier Anesthesia
Alpharetta, Georgia

Jessie L. Tucker, III, MBA, Ph.D., FACHE (Ph.D ‘98)
System Executive Vice President and Hospital Administrator
Harris Health
Houston, Texas

John B. McWhorter, III (MSHA Class 19, D.Sc. '12)
President and Chief Executive Officer
Baylor University Medical Center at Dallas
Dallas, Texas 

Michael D. Williams, MSHA, FACHE (MSHA Class 14)
President & CEO
Community Hospital Corporation
Dallas, Texas

David Yates, MBA
Regional Business Head, North America
Nestle Healthcare Nutrition, Inc.
Florham Park, New Jersey

Sheree Chapman York, DPT, MS, PT, PCS (BS PT ’77, MS PT ’83)
Director Physical Therapy and Occupational Therapy Department Early Intervention Program
Children’s of Alabama
Birmingham, Alabama

Ex-Officio Board Members

Reni Benjamin, Ph.D.
Neeysa Biddle, M.D. FACHE, MSHA*
Robert Bodmer, CFM, CIFA, ChFC
Keith Blayney, Ph.D.~
Susan Brouillette, MPH, MBA
Randy Carpenter, MSHI*
Ellen Carroll, MS, R.D., L.D.
Robert C. Chapman, LFACHE, MSHA*
Brenita Crawford, MSHA*
Stewart M. Dansby
Charlie Faulkner, FACHE, MSHA*
Michael E. Garrigan, MSHA*
Al Herbert, Jr., Ph.D.
Larry G. Hornsby, CRNA*
J. Michael Horsley, Esq., FACHE
Sean Huffman
William Todd Jackson
Kenneth Oliver, MSHA*
Stephen R. Puckett, MSHA*
S. Douglas Smith, LFACHE*
Charles Stokes, FACHE, MSHA*
Michael E. Stephens, MSHA*
Janet Perry Book, MSHA*
James E. Shmerling, DrHA, FACHE*
Michael David Tucker
Sherri Van Pelt, MPA, OTR/L*
Jon E. Vice, MSHA*
Michael R. Waldrum, M.D., MS, MBA
Charles B. Webb, Jr.~
Nancy T. White, MS, PT*
Beth Whitehead, PT, MPH*
Robert J. Zasa, MSHHA, FACMPE*

*SHP Alumnus