The Academic Common Market is an interstate agreement among selected southern states for sharing academic programs at both the baccalaureate and graduate levels. Participating states are able to make arrangements for their residents who qualify for admission to enroll in specific programs in other states on an in-state tuition basis.

A student who is not an Alabama resident who wishes to enroll at UAB as an Academic Common Market student must be accepted for admission into a UAB program to which the student's home state has obtained access for its residents through the Academic Common Market coordinator in that state.

Participating states include the following states:

  • Arkansas
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maryland
  • Mississippi
  • Oklahoma
  • South Carolina
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Virginia 
  • West Virginia

Certification of eligibility must be received by the graduate school before the first day of class in the initial quarter of registration to obtain in-state tuition status for the entire program; otherwise, in-state tuition status will be awarded beginning with the term following receipt of certification.

To obtain the name and address of a state coordinator, contact the UAB Graduate School.

Telephone: (205) 934-8227

Mailing Address:
UAB Graduate School
HUC 511
1720 2nd Ave. S.
BIRMINGHAM AL 35294-1150

Physical Address:
Hill University Center, Room 511
1400 University Boulevard

Academic Common Market