SHP Fab 40 01 webSHP Fab 40 Alumni 2010In 2009, the UAB School of Health Professions celebrated its 40th anniversary. As part of the year-long anniversary celebration, the SHP honored 40 of its best alumni. Those who personified the school's mission, vision, and values were honored as the "Fab 40 Alumni" on November 6, 2009, at a reception at the Birmingham Museum of Art.

To see pictures from the event visit our Facebook "SHP Fab 40 Alumni Awards Dinner" photo album.

The Fab 40 highlighted the diverse talents, notable accomplishments and outstanding service of SHP alumni. They were chosen from an elite field of nominees who made significant accomplishments in their field of study and contributed to their department or program through involvement or service.

The SHP Fab 40 Alumni are:

Department of Clinical and Diagnostic Sciences

Patricia Barr, Larry Hornsby, Ronnie Whorton

Department of Health Services Administration
Neeysa Biddle, Cynthia Brumfield, James Burkhart, Randy Carpenter, John Casey, Robert C. Chapman, George Farr, Charles A. Faulkner, William Ferniany, Michael E. Garrigan, Gary Glasscock, S. Robert Hernandez, Joan Hicks, Narendra Kini, Rica Lewis-Payton, Richard Lind, Rick Moore, Larry Sanders, James E. Shmerling, Donna Slovensky, S. Douglas Smith, Michael E. Stephens, Janet Perry Stewart, Charles Stokes, Michael C. Tarwater, Jessie Tucker, Jon Vice, Robert J. Zasa

SHP Fab 40 05 webSHP Fab 40 Alumni Awards DinnerDepartment of Nutrition Sciences
Donald Hensrud, Sarah Morgan, Bonnie Alston Spear, Nancy Wooldridge

Department of Occupational Therapy
Sherri Van Pelt

Department of Physical Therapy

Richard Clendaniel, Nancy White, Elizabeth Whitehead, Sheree Chapman York