OT PTE WebThe UAB School of Health ProfessionsDepartment of Occupational Therapy inducted nine students into the Alpha Beta Chapter of the Pi Theta Epsilon Honor Society.

The nine students, all members of the Master of Science in Occupational Therapy program, are Emma Ashton, Mary (Kat) Estes, Liz Hoctor, Kacy Morrissette, Rachel Stefkovich, Chandler Stepp Rice, Ansley Taylor, Danny Tindall and Mollie Weaver.


The ceremony was led by OT faculty members Sarah Tucker, MS, OTR/L, assistant professor in the MSOT program and Laura Vogtle, Ph.D., OTR/L, FAOTA, professor in the OT department.

At the ceremony, the students learned that Pi Theta Epsilon stands for advancement in occupational therapy. Pi is the first letter in the Greek word for advancement; Theta is the first letter in the Greek word for therapeutic; and Epsilon is the first letter in the Greek word for occupation.

The Pi Theta Epsilon Honor Society is designed to recognize OT students who exhibit scholastic excellence. They must rank in the top 35 percent of their class and have a GPA of 3.5 (4.0 scale) or higher.

As part of the ceremony, the newest inductees recited the Pi Theta Epsilon pledge together:

“Aware of the high calling of the scholar and the great opportunity of service through Occupational Therapy, I hereby pledge my efforts to further its purposes, to uphold the ideal of Pi Theta Epsilon, and to prove myself a worthy member of this honor society.”

After the pledge was recited, Tucker reminded the inductees that being a member of Pi Theta Epsilon is not a one-time honor – it is a lifelong membership with high expectations.

“The honor of this pledge is held within you,” said Tucker. “You can carelessly toss it aside or you can make it a meaningful part of your studies and outside activities.”