On Thursday, December 14, 2017, the Department of Clinical and Diagnostic Sciences’ Physician Assistant Studies program honored the top students of the Class of 2017.

Click Here to see PA Awards Photos

The program also delivered their Preceptors of the Year awards to the top clinical instructors as voted by the Class of 2017.

Preceptors of the Year

PA PoY BrowneBrowne's UAB PA StudentsRaymond Browne, MD
Mayfair Internal Medicine
Medical Preceptor of the Year

"He showed us how to be present with patients, giving them his full attention and working to develop relations with them," said Emily Ulloa, UAB PA Class of 2017. "He ensured that he had time for our questions and took the time to teach us. I walked away from this rotation feeling I had the best outpatient rotation possible and feeling far more equipped to handle seeing patients on my own in the near future."

PA PoY CrawfordCrawford with his UAB PA StudentsGeorge Crawford, MD
The Crawford Clinic
Surgical Preceptor of the Year

"His calming demeanor and infectious smile made us all feel welcome immediately," said Sarah Balladeres, UAB PA Class of 2017. "He would let us fall but would also be there to pick us up. He was always more confident in us and our abilities than we were in ourselves."

Dean’s Leadership Award

Deans Award Winners Anna Patterson Bellamy HawkinsDean's Award Winners
Anna Patterson, Bellamy Hawkins
The UAB School of Health Professions’ Dean’s Leadership Award is the highest honor given within the School to recognize scholastic achievement, leadership and service to the school and community.

There were only three delivered to SHP students this year and two of those were in the UAB PA Class of 2017: Bellamy Hawkins and Class of 2017 President Anna Patterson who addressed the class one final time.

"I've seen all of you face the toughest of personal challenges - weddings, babies, sickness and death - yet you still had the strength and perseverance to continue with your education and be where you are today," said Patterson. "I am absolutely amazed and proud of you and I hope you have all exceeded even your own expectations, and I hope you can see that you are clearly capable of accomplishing your goals."

Margaret K. Kirklin Award

PA Kirklin Award
The Margaret K. Kirklin Award, which is given to UAB PA students with at least a 4.0 GPA (on a 4.0 scale), was earned by eleven students this year: Emily Andrew, Amber Bratton, Maria Francis, Carlee Genung, Alyssa Keller, Caitlyn Kendrick, Emma Niethammer, Callan Rowley, Nour Shahab, Sarah Stephens and Laura Wagner.

Alpha Eta Society

PA Alpha Eta SocietyPA Class of 2017 Alpha Eta Society MembersSeven members of the Class of 2017 were inducted into the Alpha Eta Society at this event. They join 14 others who were inducted the year before. The national honor society for allied health professionals requires students to maintain an overall GPA of 3.8 or greater (on a 4.0 scale). The honor is also based on the graduate student’s community and professional service plus their demonstration of leadership abilities. Those inducted this year were: Emily Andrew, Dimpal Patel, Priya Patel, Sean Perry, Logan Pierce, Callan Rowley and Nour Shahab.

Research Poster Awards

PA Poster Winner Caitlyn Kendrick Ryne CraigPA Poster Winners
Ryne Craig and Caitlyn Kendrick
On Wednesday, December 13, 2017, the PA program held their annual poster presentations at UAB’s North Pavilion. The top three posters were:

  • 1st Place: Caitlyn Kendrick & Ryne Craig – “Prostate-Specific Antigen Screening and Prostate Cancer Mortality: A Systematic Review”
  • 2nd Place: Callan Rowley & Priya Patel – “Do Laparoscopic-Assisted Vaginal Hysterectomies have a lower Risk of Blood Loss than Total Abdominal Hysterectomies?”
  • 3rd Place: Christy Franklin – “Ultrasound Guidance: Improving Outcomes in the Central Line Placement”