DSC 0030Bert Gavin, PA, Breakfast with BlazersBert Gavin, UAB PA Class of 1974, met with UAB PA Class of 2018 as part of our Breakfast with Blazers series. We are honored to have one of our first graduates of the program join us in the year that we celebrate 50 years of UAB Physician Assistant Studies.

Did you know? UAB has the 2nd oldest PA program in the U.S.

Gavin, who paved the way for PAs in the state of Alabama, talked to the students about how the profession has developed over the years. He also encouraged the students to get involved at the local and state levels because groups like the Alabama Society of Physician Assistants play a significant role.

Michael Matthews receives Kinard Award from Winthrop University President Dan MahoneyMichael Matthews receives Kinard Award from Winthrop University President Dan MahonyMichael Matthews, Ph.D., alumnus of the UAB School of Health ProfessionsPhD in Administration-Health Services program, has been honored by Winthrop University with its top teaching award. On December 17, 2016, Matthews received the Kinard Award for Excellence in Teaching as part of Winthrop’s Commencement Ceremony.

Matthews, an associate professor of management, gave credit to his classmates and instructors at UAB for helping him reach this pinnacle achievement.

“My experience at UAB was, and still is, nothing short of amazing,” said Matthews. “The network of MSHA and PhD alumni from UAB is unparalleled and I am fortunate to be a part of this incredible network. Winning the Kinard Award is my greatest professional honor and a direct reflection of those who invested time and energy in me during my academic and industry career and I am eternally grateful.”

Thomas Morris Executive of the YearThomas Morris (pictured, left) named Executive of the YearThomas Morris, a student in the UAB School of Health ProfessionsExecutive Master of Science in Health Administration program, was named Executive Administrator of the Year at the 2016 Healthcare Awards presented by the Gwinnett (Georgia) Chamber. The award is given annually to a professional at the director level or higher who sets the standard through dedication and leadership.

Morris, the Atlanta Market Administrator for HCA Physician Services Group at Eastside Medical Center, beat out nine other finalists to win the top honor. Here is the description of why Morris won:

Carolyn Da SilvaDa Silva with Faculty of the Year awardCarolyn Da Silva, PT, DSc, NCS, alumna of the UAB School of Health ProfessionsDepartment of Physical Therapy, was awarded the 2016 Outstanding Physical Therapy Faculty Award, recognizing merit in teaching, service, and reseach. She is the first UAB alumna to win the William Gould Memorial honor from the Texas Physical Therapy Association (TPTA).

The award was given to Da Silva during the organization’s annual conference.

“I was surprised and humbled to be given this award. I strive for excellence in my patient, student, and resident- centered work, while continuing to be a lifelong learner,” said Da Silva. “I am sincerely grateful for the mentoring I received from the distinctive faculty and post-professional students at UAB, in addition to the daily support I receive from my professional ‘family’ at TWU.”

Chuck StokesChuck Stokes (MSHA Class 17) EVP/COO, Memorial HermannThe prestigious Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award, presented annually by the President of the United States, has been awarded to Memorial Hermann Sugar Land Hospital. Two alumni of the UAB School of Health Professions’ Master of Science in Health Administration program hold significant roles in the hospital and the health system.

Chuck Stokes (MSHA Class 17) is EVP/COO of the Memorial Hermann Health System, and Kate Willis (MSHA Class 49) is the director of Service Line Operations for Sugar Land Hospital.

“We’ve always seen our overarching strength as ‘family caring for family’ and this recognition doesn’t happen without the commitment and dedication of every member of the Memorial Hermann Sugar Land family,” said Greg Haralson, Senior Vice President and CEO of Memorial Hermann Sugar Land.

Kilgore CAP Kilgore promoted to Lt. ColonelJames R. Kilgore, Ph.D., director of the UAB School of Health ProfessionsPhysician Assistant Studies program, has been promoted to Lt. Colonel in the Civil Air Patrol, the official Auxiliary of the U.S. Air Force.

Kilgore, who serves as director of Administration and Personnel for the Southeast Region of the CAP, was promoted on December 1, 2016. The Southeast Region Command supports more than 8,000 members in Alabama, Mississippi, Tennessee, Georgia, Florida, Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands.

Byron Moffett Boger AwardDonald Lein, Ph.D., presents award to Byron MoffettByron Moffett, DPT, alumnus of the UAB School of Health ProfessionsDoctor of Physical Therapy program, is the 2016 recipient of the UAB Loretta R. Boger Award for Excellence in Clinical Education. Moffett, who is a physical therapist with Focus Physiotherapy in Huntsville, received the award for his “outstanding, identifiable contribution to clinical education for the UAB Department of Physical Therapy.”

Here is our Q&A with Moffett about the Boger Award honor, his work and what he calls the “most coveted currency on the planet.”

Scholarship Class of 2016

Ten students from the UAB School of Health Professions were named UAB National Alumni Society 2016 Scholarship Recipients including four who received the License to Learn Scholarship.

McKinley Barnett and Kaitlyn Thompson, students in the Health Care Management program, Danielle Winston, a student in the Biomedical Sciences program, and Menet-Allah Elbahrawi, a student minoring in Nutrition Sciences each earned the License to Learn Scholarship.

Other scholarship recipients included:

Rebecca ShapiroRebecca Shapiro, Genetic Counseling Class of 2017Rebecca Shapiro, UAB Genetic Counseling Class of 2017, traveled 140 miles for her undergraduate degree (Detroit to Kalamazoo) and 718 miles for her graduate degree (Kalamazoo to Birmingham). But to do her summer rotation, she chose to travel more than 11,000 miles. Where did she go? Why did she go? And why is she going again? The answers to that and much more in our latest UAB School of Health Professions student profile.

Name: Rebecca Shapiro
Hometown: Detroit, Michigan
Undergraduate Institution: Kalamazoo College (Kalamazoo, Michigan)
Graduate Program: UAB Genetic Counseling, Class of 2017

UAB SHP: Why did you choose UAB Genetic Counseling?