2013 OT honor societyThirteen University of Alabama at Birmingham Occupational Therapy students were inducted into the OT National Honor Society Pi Theta Epsilon on January 31, 2013. The students chosen were recognized for their scholastic excellence in occupational therapy.

Inducted into the Alpha Beta Chapter at UAB included Jessica Brooke Coffey, Lauren Elizabeth Coggins, Chelsea Diane Gamble, Lynley Godwin, Allison Clair Hallman, Amanda Marie Haroldson, Kristen Hearn, Ashley Nicole McDougal, Sadie Elizabeth Sandifer, Lyndie Grace Scram, Amber Katherine Smith, Lyndsey M. Weber, Stephanie Alana Weeks. The ceremony marked the 22nd initiation for the chapter which was established in June of 1988.

Pi Theta Epsilon contributes to the advancement of the field of occupational therapy through scholarly activities such as research development, continuing education and information exchange between student and alumni members. To be eligible, student applicants must have a minimum 3.5 GPA, must be in the top 35 percent of the class and submit a piece of scholarly work as well as a 250 word essay. The society began at the University of New Hampshire in the fall of 1958.