The UAB School of Health Professions held the annual Faculty and Staff Awards Luncheon on Friday, Feb. 28, 2014, at the UAB Alumni House. The winners were:

Nagy Volker AwardDean Harold Jones, Tim Nagy, Jose FernandezTim Nagy, Ph.D.: The Joseph F. Volker Award for the regular, full-time faculty member who has demonstrated excellence in and dedication to teaching, distinctive research and other scholarly endeavors, and/or notable service to the School, University and community.

James Rimmer, Ph.D.: The Excellence in Scholarship Award for the faculty member has made significant scholarly contributions resulting in the advancement of knowledge. Contributions include funded research, involvement in research process, publications in peer reviewed journals and more.

Kathy Nugent, Ph.D.: The Excellence in Service Award for faculty member who has made significant contributions to the School or their profession including projects and positions that bring national, state or local recognition and more.

Battles Smith AwardDean Harold Jones, Marcie Battles, Elizabeth HendrixJohn Lowman, Ph.D.: The Excellence in Teaching Award for faculty member who exhibited success in developing effective teaching methods, courses and teaching materials that generate student learning, critical thinking, problem solving, collaboration and research.

Marcie Battles: The Beverly W. Smith Outstanding Employee Award for a non-faculty employee who excels in numerous areas such as professionalism, attitude, productivity, efficiency, creativity, communication and competence.

Visit our Flickr page ( to see all the photos from the day.