SHP Honors Students Win Awards

Ten SHP Honors Program students presented their posters at the Fourth Annual UAB Expo. Five of them received awards including Ashley Oliver, Respiratory Therapy student, placing first. The Campus Recreation Center hosted some 164 scientific poster presentations, podium presentations, art displays and films. The students were judged in at least two categories. The results are listed as:


Occupational Therapy Scholarship Winners Named

OTscholar3The UAB Department of Occupational Therapy announced its annual scholarship winners during student research day. Two second year OT students were awarded for three scholarships. Ryan Elsea (right) received the Carroline "Cat" Amari Endowed Field Work Scholarship and the Helping Occupational Therapy Students Succeed Scholarship. Jalesis Sims was also awarded the Helping Occupational Therapy Students Succeed Scholarship.


Genetic Counseling Class Top Fundraiser

UAB_Genetic_Counseling_Class_2012Genetic Counseling Class of 2012 was the top fundraising team during UAB’s annual Relay for Life. The team succeeded in their goal and surpassed 25 other teams. The class raised $2,240. GC student Samantha Avery was the top participant raising $1,465. Congrats!

Respiratory Therapy Students "Kick Butts"

RT_StudentsUniversity of Alabama at Birmingham respiratory therapy (RT) students see firsthand the effects long-time smoking has on their patients. While breathing problems are the reasons students see their patients first, the students understand smoking leads to lung cancer, emphysema, chronic bronchitis and chronic obstructive pulmonary disease.


Nutrition Science Graduate Student is UAB Outstanding Woman

Michelle_CardelUAB honored six local women as its Outstanding Women for 2011. Michelle Cardel was named the Outstanding Woman Graduate Student. Cardel received her M.S. in nutrition sciences from UAB in 2009 and is currently pursuing her doctoral in nutrition sciences here. The UAB Women Center and Women's Studies Program present the awards annually during Women's History Month to honor female members of the UAB and Birmingham communities who have mentored or served other women, taken a courageous stance or overcome adversity.


MSHA Alum Named Division Vice President

Bryan Lee has been named divisional vice president for Select Medical Corporation.

Lee, who currently serves as CEO of Select Specialty Hospital in Pensacola, now will oversee seven Florida hospitals as well as in Greensboro, N.C.; Augusta, Ga.; and Knoxville, Tenn. Based in Mechanicsburg, Penn.

Lee holds a Master of Business Administration and a master's degree in hospital administration from the University of Alabama at Birmingham and received his bachelor's degree from the University of Alabama. He is a fellow of American College of Healthcare Executives, member of Five Flags Rotary, Commando in Fiesta Forces, and board member for the Council on Aging and the Pensacola Bama Club.

PA Student Wins Competition

2011GlobalHealthCaseWinnersA team with two School of Health Professions students won the UAB Global Health Case Competition. Toshio Sidney-Ando (2nd on left), a physical therapy student, and Agnes McKowen (middle), a physician assistant student, won the second annual competition sponsored by the UAB Sparkman Center for Global Health. Teams had to prepare a 15 minute solution to the challenge of addressing childhood obesity in Mexico City. Teams were given only three days to prepare the recommendations. The winning team received $1,500 and will go on to compete at the national case competition which will be held at Emory University in March 2011.


MSHA Grad Named Hospital Administrator

CWOwenBaileyMSHA 1988 Graduate Named Administrator at USA Children's & Women's Hospital

Owen Bailey, a hospital administrator with more than 20 years of health care leadership experience in the Mobile area, has been named the new administrator at the University of South Alabama Children’s & Women’s Hospital. Bailey comes to Children’s & Women’s from Infirmary Health System in Mobile, where he was executive vice president for community and governmental affairs. Prior to that, he served 14 years as president and chief executive officer of Thomas Hospital in Fairhope.