*Story courtesy Memorial Hermann

Chuck StokesChuck Stokes with Memorial Hermann staffMemorial Hermann Health System is pleased to announce the appointment of longtime and highly accomplished System Chief Operating Officer (COO) Charles “Chuck” D. Stokes to President and CEO of Memorial Hermann, effective immediately. In addition to his role as Executive Vice President and COO, Stokes had been serving as interim President and CEO following the departure of Benjamin K. Chu, M.D., who left the organization in June to pursue his passion in public and health policy.

Stokes, who began his career as a registered nurse and is an alumnus of the UAB School of Health ProfessionsMaster of Science in Health Administration (Class 17), is a well-respected industry veteran with nearly four decades of leadership experience and demonstrated success in fostering a culture of innovation and exceptional patient care experiences, with an emphasis on superior quality, safety and stellar operations.

“Chuck has proven himself to be an outstanding leader during the course of his remarkable career with our organization, working tirelessly to guide Memorial Hermann on its journey toward becoming a high-reliability organization with a strong focus on innovation and transformation,” said Memorial Hermann Board Chair Deborah M. Cannon. “He has an unwavering commitment to our patients, medical staff and to Memorial Hermann, the latter of which has been instrumental in helping us transform our operational structure in order to meet the challenges and demands of a rapidly changing healthcare landscape.”

Sarah Blaylock DefenseSarah Blaylock Dissertation DefenseSarah Blaylock, a PhD candidate in the UAB School of Health Professions’ Ph.D. in Rehabilitation Science program, defended her dissertation on Wednesday, July 5, 2017, and is on track to become the program’s second graduate in history.

Blaylock’s dissertation, titled “Increasing the Accessibility of a Falls Prevention Intervention for Community-Dwelling Older Adults with Low Vision,” tested a modified version of a Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) recommended falls prevention intervention known as the Study of Accidental Falls in the Elderly (SAFE) Health Behavior and Exercise Intervention. Blaylock looked at whether or not the SAFE intervention was accessible to older adults with low vision and piloted a version of the SAFE intervention that has been modified for use with individuals with low vision at the Southeastern Blind Rehabilitation Center.

Neerav JadejaNeerav Jadeja, MSHA Class 36Neerav Jadeja, alumnus of the UAB Master of Science in Health Administration program (MSHA Class 36) and CEO of Paradise Valley Hospital in National City, California, has been named to Becker’s Hospital Review annual “Rising Stars: 60 Healthcare Leaders Under 40.”

This is the third time since 2014 that Jadeja is a member of Becker's Hospital Review “Rising Stars” list. In 2014, he was named to the “Rising Stars: 25 Healthcare Leaders Under 40” and in 2016, he landed on the “Rising Stars: 50 Healthcare Leaders Under 40”. The 2016 profile mentions that surviving a car crash as a child began Jadeja’s journey to a career in health care.

Jadeja joined Paradise Valley Hospital in 2010 as administrator and currently serves as CEO.

Dees Jackson Smith Thomas Open Eyes Birmingham web

Andrew Dees, Alexis Jackson, Kashondra Smith, and Javeen Thomas, all members of the UAB School of Health ProfessionsMaster of Science in Health Administration (MSHA Class 51 and Class 52) program, partnered with UAB Medicine to host Open Eyes Birmingham and discuss health administration careers with students from Birmingham City Schools.

“It was not until the summer leading into my senior year in college that I discovered the field of health administration and that discovery transformed my life and the means in which I desire to serve, marrying both my passion and my strengths,” said Jackson, who is herself a 2011 graduate of Spain Park High School in the Hoover City Schools district. “At an early age I knew I loved the heart and mission behind healthcare but was completely unaware of career opportunities that existed beyond direct patient care so it is important to me to create avenues of enlightenment for others, especially for underrepresented populations.”

modern healthcare logoTwo alumni of the UAB School of Health Professions were selected to ModernHealthcare “Top 25 COOs in Healthcare 2017”.

The Department of Health Services Administration’s MSHA program is the highest ranking program at the University of Alabama at Birmingham, ranked #2 in the nation by U.S. News & World Report

Deborah GrimesDeborah Grimes, UAB Health System Chief Diversity OfficerDeborah Grimes, RN, JD, CHC, CPHQ, alumna of the UAB School of Health ProfessionsMaster of Science in Healthcare Quality and Safety program, has been named the UAB Health System’s first Chief Diversity Officer. Grimes, who serves as Associate Vice President Quality / Chief Compliance Officer at UAB Hospital, began her new appointment on April 1, 2017.

An article from the UAB Office of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion (DEI), said that in her 25 years’ experience in healthcare she has “demonstrated her passion and commitment to equity and inclusion by working with diversity professionals across the University.”

Grimes’ appointment includes a seat on the UAB Equity Leadership Council. Councilmembers serve as liaisons to the DEI and serve as resources for faculty and staff recruitment across UAB.

jay de los reyesJay de los Reyes, MSHA Class 40Jay E. de los Reyes, alumnus of the UAB School of Health ProfessionsMaster of Science in Health Administration program, has been named Chief Executive Officer of Lake Huron Medical Center (LHMC). He takes over the 144-bed acute care hospital located in Port Huron, Michigan, in June 2017.

“It is an honor and a privilege for me to lead a hospital that has served the community so well for more than 60 years,” said de los Reyes, a member of MSHA Class 40. “I look forward to working with the physicians, nurses, employees, leadership and the executive team at Lake Huron Medical Center to ensure the best care for the patients we serve.”

packhealth uma and maziMazi Rasulnia with Uma Srivastava
in the Pack Health offices
Mazi Rasulnia refuses to do things the same way everyone else does just because everyone else is doing it.

Perfect example – who he employs.

Rasulnia’s company, Pack Health, is a team of health advisors (think financial advisors for your health) that provide personal, one-on-one service to members.

So what does that have to do with the UAB Biotechnology program? Everything.

The knowledge to take scientific ideas to the people. The skills to manage others in health care. And the understanding of the processes that make medicines work and how they react.

And that is why, in only two years, one UAB Biotech grad has risen to Manager of Strategic Partnerships at Pack Health.

The 5th annual Department of Clinical and Diagnostic Sciences Professional Networking Reception was held on Thursday, April 6, 2017. The event is part of the department’s Professional Skills and QEP curriculum which provides students with the opportunity to enhance their professionalism and teamwork skills.

First-year graduate students, representing the Biotechnology, Clinical Laboratory Sciences, Genetic Counseling, Nuclear Medicine Technology and Physician Assistant Studies programs, were able to connect with fellow students, faculty and professionals from each of their respective fields. 

Highlights of this year’s event included Networking Bingo and the Outstanding First Year Graduate Student Scholarship awards that were given to one student from each program. Each is pictured below with the CDS Chair Janelle Chiasera, Ph.D., and their program director or faculty member. You can see all the photos in this Flickr photo album.