CPA WebsiteThe UAB School of Health Professions recently gained approval by the University of Alabama Board of Trustees to launch a new Master of Science in Clinical Pathologist Assistant program. The new program, offered totally online, welcomes the first cohort of students in the 2018 fall semester.

The program is open to professionals with a degree in Medical Laboratory Sciences (MLS) who are certified by the American Society for Clinical Pathology (ASCP) and have at least two years’ experience in the MLS field.

The UAB Center for Interprofessional Education and Simulation (CIPES) bestows Scholar status upon two School of Health Professions faculty members.

Harold Jones GraduationHarold Jones, Ph.D., dean of the School of Health Professions, has announced that he will be stepping down from his role as dean, pending arrival of his successor. Jones became dean of what then was known as the School of Health-Related Professions in April 2001, when it had a total of approximately 800 students. Today, it has more than 2,200 students.

Undergraduate enrollment has tripled under Jones’ leadership, with the addition of new programs such as the bachelor of science degree in biomedical sciences. This program prepares students for health-related graduate and professional study or for entry into the health care industry.

“Harold has skillfully guided his school to serve the needs of students and the health care industry, while at the same time helping UAB meet its strategic goals to deliver world-class, interdisciplinary academic programs,” Provost Pam Benoit said in announcing his decision. The U.S. News & World Report rankings for its graduate programs are at the highest levels ever — all in the top 25. These programs include health care management, physical therapy, occupational therapy and physician assistant studies. The doctoral program in nutrition science also is recognized among the 10 best in the country.

Neena XavierNeena Xavier, MD, assistant professor in the UAB School of Health ProfessionsPhysician Assistant Studies program, wins the American Association of Clinical Endocrinology Outstanding Service Award for the Promotion of Endocrine Health of an Underserved Population. She volunteers as the medical supervisor for the student-led Firehouse Shelter Wellness Clinic, which provides free access to health care for the homeless at the Birmingham shelter.

“You can’t do chronic care where they come to you,” Xavier told Endocrine Today for a recently published article. “If you want to manage diabetes care, you have to come to them and make it work for their environment. That is how you start to build trust.”

Christy Jennifer

Jennifer Christy, PT, Ph.D. is the new program director of the UAB Doctor of Physical Therapy (DPT) program. Christy has been a researcher and faculty member in the UAB School of Health Professions since 2004.

“We are so fortunate to have Dr. Christy taking on this critically important position,” said David Morris, PT, Ph.D., chair, UAB Department of Physical Therapy. “Her energy, enthusiasm and passion for physical therapy make her perfect for this role.”

Christy is also part of a multidisciplinary research team whose state of the art lab, The Vestibular and Oculomotor Research Clinic, is located within the School of Optometry.

Class of 2018. The UAB National Alumni Society has named seven UAB School of Health Professions’ (SHP) alumni to the UAB Excellence in Business Top 25.

Over the past two years, SHP alumni have made up nearly one-third of the award winners with 15 honorees chosen. Since 2015, the School has had 24 alumni earn the prestigious honor.

Warren Barstow Oculus AwardWarren, Barstow with Envision Oculus AwardOn June 1, 2018, Beth Barstow, PhD, OTR/L, SCTV, FAOTA, a low vision faculty member since 2004, became director of the University of Alabama at Birmingham Graduate Certificate in Low Vision Rehabilitation. On the same day, Mary Warren, PhD, OTR/L, FAOTA, retired as director of the low vision program she founded in 2001.

Warren, an internationally known expert in the field of low vision rehabilitation, will continue as an adjunct faculty member of the certificate program and teach courses including Foundations in Vision Impairment from Brain Injury.

“There are high expectations for a program of this stature and I look forward to implementing some exciting ideas to make sure expectations are met and we continue to produce world class low vision practitioners,” said Barstow, who provided low vision rehabilitation services to older adults in Minnesota, Florida and Arizona prior to joining UAB. “Mary is the pre-eminent OT in the world addressing vision impairment for persons with brain injury and we are fortunate to have her continued involvement in the graduate certificate program.” E. Bolus, MSPH, MPH, CNMT, FSNMMI-TS, director of the UAB Nuclear Medicine Technology program and interim director of the UAB Health Physics program, has been elected as the 2018-2019 president of the Society of Nuclear Medicine and Molecular Imaging Technologist Section (SNMMI-TS).

Bolus, who is an assistant professor in the UAB School of Health ProfessionsDepartment of Clinical and Diagnostics Sciences, was introduced along with a new slate of officers during the SNMMI 2018 Annual Meeting, June 23–26 in Philadelphia.

“As president of the SNMMI-TS, I will focus on increasing membership and supporting advocacy efforts, including scope of practice issues within the profession. I will also explore opportunities to integrate progress on the goals of the society’s Quality Initiative and Value Initiative, as quality and value go hand-in-hand. In addition, I will continue working with the SNMMI-TS Committee Chairs to achieve the objectives of the SNMMI-TS strategic plan,” Bolus stated.

Kilgore MHFA 01Kilgore teaching MHFA at Firehouse ShelterJames “Rick” Kilgore, Ph.D., PA-C, assistant professor in the School of Health ProfessionsDepartment of Clinical and Diagnostic Sciences and a Certified Mental Health First Aid Instructor, taught the first in a series of Mental Health First Aid (MHFA) classes to the Firehouse Shelter staff and volunteers in May.

Kilgore implemented this program in Birmingham as part of the Physician Assistant Foundation’s Mental Health Outreach Fellows program. He is 1 of only 16 Physician Assistants chosen for the fellowship to conduct outreach in communities as trainers using the validated Mental Health First Aid (MHFA) curriculum.

“My goal is to equip those individuals who on a daily basis come into contact with individuals who utilize the services of the Firehouse Shelter with the skills to recognize individuals who may be experiencing a mental health condition and connect them with the needed services,” said Kilgore. “The program emphasizes awareness of a potential mental health problem, listening nonjudgmentally, giving the individual reassurance, and encouraging both professional and self-help. This approach – called ALGEE – can be utilized for the majority of mental health related issues.”