Shaw_receiving_GossmanUAB Department of Physical Therapy Chair Sharon Shaw, PT, DrPH, received the Marilyn Gossman Professionalism in Physical Therapy Award from the Alabama Chapter of the American Physical Therapy Association. This is considered the chapter’s most prestigious honor to recognize a member demonstrating outstanding professionalism in any of the areas of physical therapy service, practice, education and/or research.

A physical therapist in Alabama since 1971, Shaw was recognized for her longtime service to Alabama as a clinician, an educator and for her service. She was a former director of UAB Hospital’s Physical Therapy Department and influential in developing the nationally recognized burn treatment team. She was the director of the UAB Physical Therapist Assistant program. Shaw was one of the founders of AIDS Alabama and has served in a variety of leadership positions for the organization.

Marilyn Gossman, PT, Ph.D. FAPTA, whom the award was named after, is the former UAB Division of Physical Therapy director. Shaw stepped in as the interim director after the untimely death of Gossman in 1998. Shaw became the director a year later. Shaw helped elevate the division of physical therapy to department and transitioned the physical therapy program from a master’s to doctoral degree. The department also just started its PhD in Rehabilitation Science program jointly with the Department of Occupational Therapy.