Amy Miskimon GossAmy Miskimon Goss, PhD, RDAmy Miskimon Goss, PhD, RD, postdoctoral fellow in the Nutrition Obesity Research Center (NORC) and Department of Nutrition Sciences, is the recipient of a Thrasher Research Fund Early Career Award.

The award will fund her research titled "Carbohydrate Restricted Diet to Reverse Fatty Liver in Adolescents with Obesity." The objective of the Fund is “to provide grants for clinical, hypothesis-driven research that offers substantial promise for meaningful advances in the prevention, diagnosis and treatment of children’s diseases, particularly research that offers broad-based applications.”

The Thrasher Research Fund Early Career Award Program is especially interested in supporting the work of such young investigators as Goss who demonstrate excellent potential to achieve advances in improving children’s health.

The American College of Healthcare Executives (ACHE) has approved the new Master of Science in Nutrition Sciences, Lifestyle Management and Disease Prevention (LMDP) track. Offered totally online, applications are being accepted for the first class that begins Fall 2016.

Lizzy and Child“With the burden of chronic disease increasing in our society – like diabetes, obesity and cancer – there is a real need for lifestyle management in multiple employment venues,” said W. Timothy Garvey, M.D., professor and chair, UAB Department of Nutrition Sciences. “Our graduates will have a multi-disciplinary skill-set that would normally be embodied in multiple personnel and they will be able to meet the long-term health needs of their community.” The Department of Nutrition Sciences at UAB is well positioned to offer this dynamic curriculum, as the department is home to three NIH-funded research centers in the areas of diabetes, obesity and cancer.


UAB Dietetic Interns WebUAB Dietetic Interns ClassOur Dietetic Intern students added the final touches to "The Habitat House that UAB Built 2015." The fourteen students, led by Susan Miller, R.D., L.D., assistant professor in the Department of Nutrition Sciences, spent the day painting the interior of the house.

The students participated in the #UABbuilds effort of a special Habitat House. In honor of the Americans with Disabilities Act's 25th Anniversary, this Habitat House is ADA compliant. The family's oldest son uses a wheelchair and needs complete access to the house. The mom, who aspires to attend school and become a nurse, says owning her own home that is perfect for all her children has always been her dream.

Elizabeth MaElizabeth Ma, MSTP student and NORC fellowElizabeth Ma, an MD/PhD student in the Medical Scientist Training Program (MSTP) and a fellow in the UAB Nutritional Obesity Research Center’s (NORC) Pre-Doctoral Training in Obesity-Related Research program, is the winner of two national awards for her abstract titled “Urinary F2-Isoprostanes Do Not Reflect Oxidative Stress Operative in Human Insulin Resistance, but are Correlated with Lean Mass and Serum Lipids.”

The first award, sponsored by the American Institute for Cancer Research (AICR), is 2nd prize for the annual abstract competition from The Obesity Society (TOS) Obesity & Cancer (O&C) Section in the category of Student Investigator. The O&C Section promotes the prevention and management of cancer – with a focus on how obesity affects cancer risk – as well as educational strategies to disseminate findings to both the scientific community and the public. Elizabeth will present her work at the O&C Section meeting held in Los Angeles on November 5, 2015, where she will be awarded by Dr. June Stevens, the AICR Distinguished Professor at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, along with the other winners.

The Department of Nutrition Sciences rewarded nine students with Dietetic Internship and MS Scholarship award letters for the 2015 - 2016 academic year.

Rachel Sullivan was awarded the $1,000 Rebecca L. Bradley Scholarship for the Clinical Nutrition and Dietetics Program. While Rebecca Gaines Steinman, Danielle Bowden, Sara Sawicki, Jennifer Bilko, Stacy Sargent, Anna Harrison, Mary Claire Shurina and O. Charita Lewis were each awarded the $1,508 Carol Brewster Craig Scholarship for the Clinical Nutrition and Dietetics Program.

The scholars will be recognized at the UAB School of Health Professions scholarship luncheon that is held during the spring semester. The annual luncheon recognizes both the scholarships recipients and the donors and provides a wonderful opportunity for the two to meet and learn more about each other.