10 11 18 Join Now   10 11 18 Give   10 11 18 UAB News           Facebook ICON   Twitter ICON   LinkedIn ICON   Instagram ICON   You Tube ICON

What have you been up to? We'd like to know!

We want to hear from you! Please share your achievements, promotions, or other news with us HERE!  You may attach a press release or any other documentation you would like to include.

We enjoy hearing about UAB alumni and the milestones that you achieve. We hope to hear from you soon!

Class of 2013

WHITNEY BROWN '13 has joined Georgia Campus-Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine as an admissions coordinator/recruiter. She will work across all programs and serve as the main contact for the College’s developing Physical Therapy (PT) program. Pending receipt of Candidacy for Accreditation status, the PT program hopes to matriculate its first class of students in the Summer of 2018. Brown also plans to establish and strengthen new pipeline initiatives to increase enrollment of underrepresented minorities while creating and maintaining relationships with colleges in the southeastern region and with middle schools and high schools in the state of Georgia. Whitney earned a Bachelor's degree in Mass Communication and Public Relations at UAB in 2013.

Class of 2012

JASON VICE '12/'15 has accepted a position as the new occupational therapist for the UAB Center for Low Vision Rehabilitation. Located within Callahan Eye Hospital, the clinic is a division of the UAB Department of Ophthalmology and serves a wide variety of patients. In his role, Jason will work with patients to use remaining vision more efficiently, use optical and non-optical aids, and include safety and visibility in the home. Jason graduated from UAB in 2012 with a BS in Psychology while earning a MS in from the School of Health Professions in 2015.

Class of 2009

SEEMAL DESAI, M.D. '09 has been elected to the American Academy of Dermatology Board of Directors. Dr. Desai will serve a four-year term that will begin at the conclusion of the 2018 AAD Annual Meeting. Dr. Desai is in private practice and serves as an assistant professor in the department of dermatology at UT Southwestern Medical Center in Dallas. Dr. Desai is the chair of the Academy’s Leadership Development Steering Committee and serves on the board of SkinPAC, which works to raise the visibility of dermatology as a leader among physician specialties and within the health policy community. He is also the secretary/treasurer of the Skin of Color Society and president-elect of the Texas Dermatological Society. He completed his medical residency at UAB in 2009.

Class of 2008

CHRIS JETT '08/'09 has been named the new administrator of the University of South Alabama Children's & Women's Hospital. In his new role, Jett will be responsible for the day-to-day operations of the 1,100-employee hospital. He has worked at the hospital since 2008 and has been an assistant administrator since 2012. Chris graduated from UAB in 2008 with an MBA from the Collat School of Business and in 2009 with an MSHA from the School of Health Professions.

Class of 2001

Monika Oli, Ph.D. '01 was recently selected as the University of Florida's Faculty Advisor/Mentor of the Year. Dr. Oli serves as a senior lecturer within the University of Florida's College of Agricultural and Life Sciences microbiology and cell science department. She is the only UF faculty to earn both the teaching and advising honors from the university. Dr. Oli earned her Ph.D. in Biochemistry from the UAB College of Arts & Sciences in 2001.

Class of 1995

DR. TROY J. MUELLER '95 was selected to be the Outcome Leader for Systems Engineering & Acquisition for the Homeland Security Systems Engineering and Development Institute at the MITRE Corporation in Washington D.C. Dr. Mueller graduated from UAB in 1995 with a BA in Political Science from the College of Arts & Sciences.

Class of 1992

DR. CAMILLE R. QUINN '92 is joining the faculty of The Ohio State University College of Social Work as an Assistant Professor on May 1st. Dr. Quinn graduated from UAB in 1992 with a BS in Psychology from the College of Arts & Sciences.

Class of 1991

DR. J. TODD CHASTAIN '91 is currently serving as an adjunct faculty member in the UAB School of Dentistry while maintaining his private practice in North Alabama. Dr. Chastain graduated from UAB in 1991 with a Doctor of Dental Medicine from the School of Dentistry.

Class of 1989

LYNN M. TERREBONNE, PH.D. '89 has been named partner at Caesar Rivise, PC. Dr. Terrebonne was an associate with Caesar Rivise from 2003 until 2006. Over the last ten years, her practice focused on the representation of brand name pharmaceutical companies in ANDA litigation and related matters. Dr. Terrebonne is a registered U.S. patent attorney. She graduated from UAB in 1989 with a Ph.D. in Pharmacology from the College of Arts & Sciences.

Class of 1988

OWEN BAILEY '88 has been named the chief operating officer of the University of South Alabama Health, in Mobile, AL. Owen graduated from UAB in 1988 with a MS in Health Administration from the School of Health Professions.

Class of 1984

PHILLIP MCCALLUM '84 was named the Alabama State Bar's executive director. McCallum is a founding shareholder of McCallum, Methvin & Terrell, P.C. He is a graduate of Samford University’s Cumberland School of Law and was admitted to practice law in Alabama in 1988. From 1989 to 1992, he worked as a prosecutor in the Jefferson County District Attorney’s Office before becoming a civil litigator. McCallum has served as president of the Birmingham Bar Association’s Young Lawyers Division, as a member of the Alabama Supreme Court Chief Justice’s Commission for Professionalism and as a member of the Alabama State Bar’s Board of Bar Commissioners representing the 10th Judicial Circuit of Alabama. He also served as president of the Alabama State Bar (2012-2013). In addition to his admittance to the Alabama State Bar, he is also a member of the Texas Bar Association, Oklahoma Bar Association, West Virginia Bar Association and the American Bar Association. He is also a member of the National Conference of Bar Presidents and the Southern Conference of Bar Presidents. McCallum graduated from the UAB College of Arts & Sciences in 1984 with a B.A. in Political Science.

Class of 1980

PATRICIA BOSTON '80 is currently serving a two-year term as president of ANA-Maine (American Nurses Association-Maine). Patricia graduated from UAB in 1980 with a MSN in Adult Health from the School of Nursing.