The Benevolent Fund is governed by UAB employees representing all areas of the University including Academic Programs, Administrative areas, Callahan Eye Hospital, Health Services Foundation, Health System, UAB Hospital, and Viva Health. According to by-laws, voting membership is based on proportional representaion and members are selected to serve two year terms. The council is divided into standing committees: Blazer Kitchen, Community Impact, Designation Review, Employee Emergency Assistance, Grant Review, Habitat House, UAB Academic and Administrative Campaign and UAB Medicine Campaign. Ad hoc committees are formed as necessary to carry out the activities of the council.

Executive Committee
President Lynne Jarreau
Vice President Amy Chatham
Secretary Peggy Kain
Immediate Past President Phillip Bivens
Campaign Chair: Academic & Administration vacant
Campaign Co-Chair: Academic & Administration vacant
Campaign Chair: UAB Medicine Martha Tankersley
Campaign Co -Chair: UAB Medicine Dawn Williams
Blazer Kitchen Chair Michelle Henry
Blazer Kitchen Co-Chair Stefanie Varghese
Community Impact Grant Chair Tanesha Derico
Community Impact Grant Co-Chair vacant
Designation Review Chair Martha Griffin
Designation Review Co-Chair Laura Weems Tull
EEAP Chair Cheryl Malone
EEAP Co-Chair Holly Holliday Jones
Grant Review Chair LaShell Cameron
Grant Review Co-Chair vacant
Habitat House Chair Bryan Jones
Habitat House Co-Chair vacant

Benevolent Fund Council
Athletics vacant
Callahan Eye Hospital Shelby Smith
Amanda Swan
Collat School of Business Laura Tull
College of Arts and Sciences Antonio Goodman
Deborah Littleton
Development and Alumni Mary Jane Gibson
Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Holly Holliday Jones
Finance and Administration Tanesha Derico
Matthew Finley
Paula Mitchell
Graduate School vacant
Health Services Foundation Nancy Lawrence
Brandon Patterson
Wendy Tissier
Health System Martha Griffin
Lynn Watson
Dawn Williams
Honors College Donna Andrews
Information Technology Shira Fogel
Aman Khera
Office of the Provost Amy Badham
LaShell Cameron
Bryan Jones
Research Frannie Horn
School of Dentistry Tiffany Brooks
Lynne Jarreau
School of Education Tonya Perry
School of Engineering Desland Robinson
Tomeka Wilson
School of Health Professions Kristin Chapleau
Shannon Houser
School of Medicine Ashley Allen
Adrianne Marbury
Valerie Lehman Paige
Danya Segrest
School of Nursing Karmie Johnson
Erin Clarkson
School of Optometry Stephanie Varghese
School of Public Health Megan Evans
Michelle Henry
Student Affairs Phillip Bivens
Andrew Sparks
UAB Hospital Bekah Barber
Robyn Fleming
Jaclynn Gothard
Matt Joiner
Cheryl Malone
Brittney Mitchell
Nikea Patterson
Carson Phillips
Ingrid Poindexter
Martha Tankersley
Norm Weller
UAB Libraries Peggy Kain
University Relations Haley Herfurth
Viva Tiffany Nabors


Lisa Higginbotham, Benevolent Fund Manager

*Council members are nominated and elected by the faculty and staff of UAB to serve a two-year term. We will be accepting nominations for the 2020-2021 year through August 7, 2020. For a nomination form, please complete the Council Member Nomination Form.