Seven Principle Elements for Entrepreneurship EducationEntrepreneurship is one of the most popular areas in business schools across the nation.

According to the Kauffman Foundation, the number of entrepreneurship education programs has increased fivefold and the number of course offerings has increased 20-fold in the United States since the 1970s. To help support the evolution of business education, professors at the University of Alabama at Birmingham’s Collat School of Business recently published a framework of entrepreneurial phenomena designed for program development and educational activity.

mainframesU.S. News & World Report ranks UAB’s graduate Management Information Systems program as one of the best online computer information technology programs in the country.

MBA class in new buildingU.S. News & World Report ranks UAB’s MBA program among the nation’s best. The latest rankings were released March 12 in the 2020 edition of the Best Graduate Schools guidebook, available online at

CustomerServiceModern retailing is a highly competitive business with a large economic footprint. A key competitive advantage for retailers is the ability to identify and use the factors that provide customer satisfaction and loyalty when it comes to buying merchandise online or in-store.

ConoverThe University of Alabama at Birmingham Collat School of Business has named Teresa L. Conover, Ph.D., as the chair of the Department of Accounting and Finance.

“Dr. Conover is a seasoned accounting scholar and leader who brings a wealth of knowledge and experiences that will help us elevate our accounting and finance programs to new heights,” said Eric P. Jack, Ph.D., dean of the Collat School of Business. “We are also delighted that Dr. Conover has a long history leading international student organizations in accounting and finance, so she will be a champion for our students.”

boyle insideKris Boyle, manager of administration and operations in the Collat School of BusinessIn case you missed it, August 2018 was a big month for the Collat School of Business: It opened its new $37.5 million state-of-the-art facility, a 108,000-square-foot building located along the north side of University Boulevard between 12th and 13th streets south. It was a significant undertaking — one that many Collat employees say wouldn’t have been possible without Kris Boyle, manager of administration and operations.

ABC Excellence in Construction Award ABC Excellence in Construction Award

The UAB Collat School of Business’s new state-of-the-art building on University Boulevard was honored recently by the Associated Builders and Contractors (ABC) Alabama chapter. During an awards ceremony at The Club in Birmingham, the $37.5-million facility and its general contractor, Brasfield & Gorrie, were honored for excellence in construction.

project management joomlaAdditional courses have been added to the Collat School of Business project management certificate program to help business professionals further succeed.Business professionals throughout Alabama have the opportunity to expand their project management skills through the University of Alabama at Birmingham’s Professional Education. The 2019 course schedule includes individual courses and the opportunity to pursue a certification in project management.

rusty duvall streamA two-time childhood cancer survivor, Rusty Duvall will graduate from the University of Alabama at Birmingham with his bachelor’s degree in industrial distribution Saturday, Dec. 15, and start his dream job with the United Parcel Service in January.