Karolina Mukhtar Recognized by the National Science Foundation

Eugenia Kharlampieva and Karolina Mukhtar. Eugenia Kharlampieva and Karolina Mukhtar.
In a stunning achievement, four College faculty members have been awarded CAREER Awards by the National Science Foundation. The recipients are Dr. Eugenia Kharlampieva, Chemistry; Dr. Karolina Mukhtar, Biology; and Dr. Thamar Solorio and Dr. Ragib Hasan, Computer and Information Sciences.

(To read another article on Dr. Mukhtar's achievement, visit UAB News.)

The CAREER award is the National Science Foundation's most prestigious awards in support of junior faculty who exemplify the role of teacher-scholars through outstanding research, excellent education, and the integration of education and research within the context of the mission of their organizations.

The College of Arts and Sciences last had a faculty member win a CAREER grant in 2011, when Dr. David Hilton (Physics) was recognized for his work in coherent manipulation in quantum systems. UAB has never had four faculty honored in a single year.

Selection for this award is based on two important criteria:
  1. innovative research at the frontiers of science and technology that is relevant to the mission of the sponsoring organization or agency, and
  2. community service demonstrated through scientific leadership, education or community outreach.

Dr. Thamar Solorio and Dr. Ragib Hasan, Computer and Information Systems. Dr. Thamar Solorio and Dr. Ragib Hasan, Computer and Information Systems. The awards foster innovative developments in science and technology, increase awareness of careers in science and engineering, give recognition to the scientific missions of the participating agencies, enhance connections between fundamental research and national goals, and highlight the importance of science and technology for the Nation’s future.

Mukhtar’s application of the award will focus on significantly enhancing our understanding of pathogen-mediated endoplasmic reticulum stress in plants, training next-generation minority scientists and engaging an urban community in citizen science. The findings will influence the agricultural sciences by demonstrating mechanisms to develop crop plants with the capacity to function under increased cellular stress, which is a necessity for a more sustainable future. To complement the research, this CAREER Award will implement an innovative education program called OUTPACE Summer Camp.

2014 Research Grants and Monetary Awards:

Dr. Eugenia Kharlampieva, Chemistry
Shape Responses of Ultrathin Hydrogel Microcapsules
Award amount: $525,000

Dr. Karolina Mukhtar, Biology
Regulatory Mechanisms of Pathogen Mediated Cellular Stress Signaling in Arabidopsis: Taking Plant Molecular Biology to the Urban Garden
Award amount: $1,100,000

Dr. Thamar Solorio, Computer and Information Sciences
Authorship Analysis in Cross Domain Settings
Award amount: $500,000

Dr. Ragib Hasan, Computer and Information Sciences
Secure and Trustworthy Provenance for Accountable Clouds
Award amount: $485,000