It is with great pleasure we celebrate the awards that our colleagues have won this semester: Raymond Mohl, Carolyn Conley, Glenn Feldman, and Andrew Demshuk.

Raymond MohlBy a unanimous vote, the Florida Historical Society Board of Directors has selected Raymond Mohl to be given the Dorothy Dodd Lifetime Achievement Award. Named in honor of the late Dorothy Dodd, a former Florida State librarian and longtime supporter of the Florida Historical Society, the award recognizes persons who have given more than two decades of service (amateur or professional) to the study and promotion of Florida history. The award will be presented on May 23 as part of the Society's 2014 Annual Meeting & Symposium.

Carolyn Conley was one of 13 graduate faculty to receive the 2014 Graduate Dean Award for Excellence in Mentorship. Faculty selected received at least five letters of nomination that commended excellence in teaching and communication and mentoring. An excerpt from one of her letters of nomination reads:
Carolyn Conley. “The sheer amount of time and work that she has devoted to me personally is daunting considering everything else she does. She always makes me feel as if I am the most important student she mentors and that is her primary job. She does not get paid for the amount of time she spends with students, which includes the late night emails, impromptu meetings — me barging into her office not considering if she was busy — countless letters of recommendations and numerous discussions of reassurance. She has made herself available to me all hours, day and night.”

Congratulations also go to Glenn Feldman for winning the Anne B & James B. McMillan Book Prize (see related story) and to Andrew Demshuk for winning a Humboldt Research Fellowship (see related story).

Please join us in congratulating our colleagues for these outstanding awards.