Dean’s Award for Excellence in Teaching


The Dean’s Award for Excellence in Teaching recognizes full-time regular faculty members of College of Arts and Sciences in the three distinctive areas noted below who have demonstrated exceptional accomplishments in teaching.

  • Arts and Humanities – Art and Art History, Music, Theatre, Communication Studies, English, Foreign Languages, History and Philosophy
  • Natural Sciences and Mathematics – Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Physics and Mathematics
  • Social and Behavioral Sciences – African American Studies, Anthropology, Criminal Justice, Political Science and Public Administration, Psychology, Social Work and Sociology


The three faculty members so honored will receive a cash award of $1,000 and an engraved plaque that stands as a symbol of his or her achievement.


Eligibility is limited to full-time regular faculty members of the College of Arts and Sciences. The individual must have held faculty status at UAB for a minimum of three years and may receive the award only once in any three-year period.

Criteria for Selection

The awards shall be based solely on outstanding accomplishments in teaching as demonstrated by any or all of the following:

  • Broad, thorough knowledge of the subject area and the ability to effectively convey difficult concepts to students
  • Exemplary classroom instruction as evidenced by student and peer evaluations
  • Fairness, open-mindedness, and accessibility to students in and out of the classroom setting
  • An objective, analytical approach to information; clear portrayal of conceptual interrelationships; and intellectually stimulating classroom presentations
  • Ability to inspire and mentor students through advising and publication of their work
  • Effective use of innovative teaching methods and assurance that his/her courses stay abreast of current theory and use of modern technology
  • Promotion of ethical and professional values and behavior among students
  • Ability to infuse students with a commitment to life-long learning and professional development
  • Service and scholarly activities that provide excellent role models for students

Procedure for Nomination

Any member of the student body, faculty, or alumni may make a nomination by completing and submitting, by the announced deadline, a nomination package consisting of:

  1. The online nomination form
  2. An abbreviated biographical sketch of the nominee, limited to three pages
  3. A maximum of three letters of support

The nomination must clearly demonstrate that the nominee meets the selection criteria and eligibility requirements.

Entry forms and support letters should be scanned and emailed to Dr. Catherine Danielou, Senior Associate Dean, at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

School Selection Committee

Composition: The Dean will appoint a selection committee. The members of the committee shall include full-time regular faculty members, with as many past recipients of the President’s Award for Excellence in Teaching as possible. The committee appointments shall be for three years, and members will hold staggered terms on the committee.

Responsibilities: The committee will elect a chairperson annually. The chairperson of the committee shall assume the responsibility of insuring that nominations are solicited from students, faculty, and alumni. After nominations are received, the committee shall meet to determine the most competitive finalists, based on the strength and quality of the nominations received. After full review of the documentation for each finalist, the committee shall make their final selections and submit then to the Dean. The announcement will be made no later than January each year.

The three winners will be considered for the final College of Arts and Sciences nominee for the President’s Award of Excellence in Teaching.

All deliberations and information provided to the committee shall be considered confidential and not shared with anyone outside of the committee. All communications with faculty or administrators concerning the nominees shall be made by the chair of the committee or his/her designee.