Displaying items by tag: Department of Physics

Dr. Christina Richey (NASA Headquarters & Smart Data Solutions, LLC and UAB physics alumnus) has made significant contributions to fostering equal opportunity, diversity, and inclusion in planetary science in the spirit of the Harold Masursky award. 
Dr. Ilias Perakis, a professor in the Department of Physics of the University of Crete in Heraklion, Greece, has been named Chair of the College of Arts and Sciences Department of Physics.
UAB physics and chemistry major Luke McClintock has been named a 2015 Goldwater Scholar.
Dr. Thomas McCauley (UAB Physics PhD - Class of 1996) has assumed a Vice President position at Shire Pharmaceuticals. Dr. McCauley joined Shire in 2010 and heads its global nonclinical development.
UAB Physics undergraduates, graduate students, faculty and staff all gathered for the department’s Annual Awards Day on April 17, 2015.
Dr. Sonal Singh has accepted a position at GLOBAL FOUNDRIES (a semiconductor manufacturing company) as a 'Senior Defect Engineer - Technology Development’.
April 10, 2015

A Place in Space

The late Thomas Wdowiak, Ph.D., taught astronomy at UAB for nearly 30 years. Now he is astronomy, thanks to NASA, which has named a prominent ridge on Mars to honor him and his crucial scientific contributions.
Laser physicist Sergey Mirov, Ph.D., left Russia 22 years ago, after training in Moscow under the 1964 Nobel laureate Aleksandr Mikhailovich Prokhorov and working at the USSR Academy of Sciences.
One of the teams selected to compete in the 2015 Alabama Launchpad Startup Competition includes UAB researchers (Dr. Aaron Catledge and Jamin Johnston) in the Department of Physics who have teamed up with Pete Winslett, owner of local company ‘Bama Mine & Milling’.
The 2015 Physics Scholarship and Awards Committee is pleased to announce that the following Physics undergraduates have been selected for undergraduate scholarships for Spring 2015.
Dr. Ryoichi Kawai (Department of Physics) and Dr. Elizabeth Sztul (School of Medicine) are the latest winners of the UAB College of Arts and Sciences Interdisciplinary Awards.
Recently, Nenad Velisavljevic, 2005 Physics PhD graduate from Prof. Y. K. Vohra's high pressure group and currently staff member at Los Alamos National Laboratory, along with three co-workers received a DOE-NNSA Defense Programs Award of Excellence.
A UAB/Vivo Biosciences/Birmingham Business Alliance team will be participating in the National Institutes of Health (NIH) new Innovation Corps Program.
NASA recently announced the selection of seven instrument proposals for inclusion on the next rover to be sent to Mars in 2020. Among the proposals selected, Dr. Luther Beegle, UAB physics alumnus and Research Scientist at the Jet Propulsion Laboratory in Pasadena, CA, is the principal investigator for the Scanning Habitable Environments with Raman & Luminescence for Organics and Chemicals (SHERLOC).
CDAC Graduate Student Spencer Smith, along with CDAC Academic Partner Yogesh Vohra and colleagues from the University of Alabama - Birmingham, used diamond anvil cell technology, Raman spectroscopy, synchrotron x-ray diffraction, and multiple ab initio harmonic frequency calculations to explore the solid-state transition behavior of Paracetamol (a commonly used analgesic and anti-pyretic) at hydrostatic pressures up to 21 GPa.
What's the fastest thing you can imagine? How about the smallest? Well never mind, because there really is no way to wrap your head around what's going on in David Hilton's laser lab in the UAB Department of Physics.
The Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship in Excellence in Education Foundation has recently announced the recipients of its 2014 Goldwater Scholars, which included two UAB undergraduates. The Department of Physics was pleased to find out that Luke McClintock, a sophomore dual-major in physics and chemistry earned an honorable mention for this prestigious and highly competitive recognition.
UAB’s Yogesh Vohra, Ph.D., a University Scholar, professor in the Department of Physics, and associate dean in the College of Arts and Sciences, “grows” diamonds by mixing methane with hydrogen in a process called microwave plasma chemical vapor deposition.
Page 3 of 5