Displaying items by tag: Department of Physics

May 01, 2014

Diamond in the Rough

Industrial diamonds may be less flashy than their multifaceted, organic cousins, but their durability offers great potential for scientific use Yogesh Vohra, Ph.D., professor of physics and associate dean of the UAB College of Arts and Sciences, has been conducting research on manmade diamonds for many years.
UAB Physics Undergraduates, Graduate Students, Faculty and Staff all gathered for the department’s Annual Awards Day on April 18, 2014.
The following physics undergraduate majors were awarded best presentations awards in their categories at the UAB Expo on Friday, April 11.
Graduate student Nathaniel Wolanyk was awarded an NIH Graduate Summer Internship to work under the direction of Dr. Xujing Wang.
Undergraduate students from Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts, Southeastern Louisiana University, Western Kentucky University and Birmingham Southern College came to learn more about the Physics Graduate Program and the research accomplishments of our faculty.
When David Shealy, Ph.D., professor and chair of the Department of Physics, accepted an assistant professor position at UAB in 1973, he had no idea he would one day be honored for more than 40 years of service to the university.
Two graduate students in the College of Arts and Sciences have received 2014 CAS Graduate Entrepreneurship Awards. The program promotes student innovation and entrepreneurship across all graduate programs in CAS.
The 2014 Physics Scholarship and Awards Committee is pleased to announce that the following Physics undergraduates have been selected for undergraduate scholarship for Spring 2014.
The grant will support a synthetic diamond research project — "Innovations in Chemical Vapor Deposited Diamond Crystals and Nanostructured Diamond Coatings" — and it represents a significant milestone in a growing strategic trend of collaborative efforts between the BBA and UAB.
David Hilton, Ph.D., has received notification on June 3rd from Dr. Ray L. Watts, President of UAB, on his promotion to associate professor and the award of tenure, in the Department of Physics effective October 1, 2013.
Physics graduate student Spencer Smith has been selected for a CDAC graduate fellowship beginning August 15th.
Graduate student Ustun Sunay was awarded a 10-week summer internship sponsored by the Naval Research Enterprise Internship Program.
A research paper  “High pressure transport properties of the topological insulator Bi2Se3” co-authored by Professor Yogesh K. Vohra with colleagues from the University of California-San Diego, University of Maryland, and Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory has been selected by the Editorial Board of the Journal of Physics: Condensed Matter for inclusion in the journal's ‘Highlights of 2012’ collection. 
The following physics graduate and undergraduate students were announced as the recipients of this year's outstanding student awards during the physics department's Annual Awards Day on April 19th.
Three physics undergraduate students were awarded scholarships for the 2013-2014 academic year through the NASA Alabama Space Grant Consortium.
UAB College of Arts and Sciences (CAS) is pleased to announce the first round of Graduate Student Entrepreneurship Awards.  The goal of this initiative is to promote student innovation and entrepreneurship across graduate programs in CAS. 
CDAC graduate student Walter Uhoya from UAB and colleagues from Illinois Wesleyan University, Institute of Physics at Taipei, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, HPCAT and UAB, have shown that designer diamond anvil technology for the measurement of electrical resistance can be used at a synchrotron source to perform simultaneous structural and electrical resistance measurements directly at high pressures and low temperatures.
Beegle's role on this mission is to be something of an interplanetary safety inspector. "I am one of three surface sampling systems scientists," he says. "We're in charge of Curiosity's drill and scoop"—which are crucial to the mission goal of "finding traces of organics and understanding the habitability potential of Mars," Beegle says.
The graduating seniors of the EMSAP Class of 2012 voted Dr. Christopher M. Lawson as its Outstanding Professor in Physics.
The Scientific Review Panel of the Council for the Lindau Nobel Laureate Meetings has selected Jeffrey Montgomery, a doctoral student in physics, to participate in the 62nd Lindau Nobel Laureate Meeting that will be held from July 1 to July 6, 2012, in Lindau, Germany.
Page 4 of 5