Displaying items by tag: Department of Physics

Three physics graduate students were awarded fellowships for the 2012-2013 academic year through the Alabama EPSCoR Graduate Research Scholars Program.
Physics graduate and undergraduate students were selected as the recipients of this year's outstanding student awards.
On behalf of the EPSCoR/IDeA Coalition Dr. Christopher M. Lawson from the University of Alabama at Birmingham testified in front of the House Committee on Appropriations Subcommittee on Commerce, Justice, Science and Related Agencies on March 22.
Physics Honors students Ustun Sunay and Alex Skinner have been selected to give oral presentations of their undergraduate honors research at the Eleventh Annual University of Alabama System Honor Research Day on Friday, April 13th, on the Tuscaloosa campus. Their abstracts were 17 out of 51 selected for oral presentations. Professors Mary Ellen Zvanut and Renato Camata are their honors research advisors.
Nanodiamonds designed to toughen artificial joints also might prevent the inflammation caused when hardworking metal joints shed debris into the body, according to an early study published this week in the journal Acta Biomaterialia.
On November 18, 2011, the Optical Society of America (OSA) announced that Sergey B. Mirov, UAB Professor of Physics and University Professor, was elected to the rank of Fellow. 
The poet William Blake once imagined seeing “a world in a grain of sand,” but Yogesh Vohra, Ph.D., a UAB physics professor and director of UAB’s Center for Nanoscale Materials and Biointegration(CNMB), sees a world of possibilities on a much smaller scale.
David Hilton, Ph.D., an assistant professor of physics, has received a National Science Foundation CAREER Award.
Page 5 of 5