Displaying items by tag: department of physics student news

Graduate student Ustun Sunay was awarded a 10-week summer internship sponsored by the Naval Research Enterprise Internship Program.
The following physics graduate and undergraduate students were announced as the recipients of this year's outstanding student awards during the physics department's Annual Awards Day on April 19th.
Three physics undergraduate students were awarded scholarships for the 2013-2014 academic year through the NASA Alabama Space Grant Consortium.
UAB College of Arts and Sciences (CAS) is pleased to announce the first round of Graduate Student Entrepreneurship Awards.  The goal of this initiative is to promote student innovation and entrepreneurship across graduate programs in CAS. 
CDAC graduate student Walter Uhoya from UAB and colleagues from Illinois Wesleyan University, Institute of Physics at Taipei, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, HPCAT and UAB, have shown that designer diamond anvil technology for the measurement of electrical resistance can be used at a synchrotron source to perform simultaneous structural and electrical resistance measurements directly at high pressures and low temperatures.
The Scientific Review Panel of the Council for the Lindau Nobel Laureate Meetings has selected Jeffrey Montgomery, a doctoral student in physics, to participate in the 62nd Lindau Nobel Laureate Meeting that will be held from July 1 to July 6, 2012, in Lindau, Germany.
Three physics graduate students were awarded fellowships for the 2012-2013 academic year through the Alabama EPSCoR Graduate Research Scholars Program.
Physics graduate and undergraduate students were selected as the recipients of this year's outstanding student awards.
Physics Honors students Ustun Sunay and Alex Skinner have been selected to give oral presentations of their undergraduate honors research at the Eleventh Annual University of Alabama System Honor Research Day on Friday, April 13th, on the Tuscaloosa campus. Their abstracts were 17 out of 51 selected for oral presentations. Professors Mary Ellen Zvanut and Renato Camata are their honors research advisors.
Page 2 of 2