Print this page

UAB Physics Department Awards Day - 2014

  • April 18, 2014
UAB Physics Undergraduates, Graduate Students, Faculty and Staff all gathered for the department’s Annual Awards Day on April 18, 2014.
UAB Physics Undergraduates, Graduate Students, Faculty and Staff all gathered for the department’s Annual Awards Day on April 18, 2014. While enjoying a barbeque lunch, Dr. David Shealy, Professor and Chair, welcomed everyone and expressed congratulations for the students’ many accomplishments this past year. 

Dr. Renato Camata, Director of Undergraduate Students, acknowledged the dedication and hard work of our undergrads. Honor Students making the President’s and Dean’s List were asked to stand and be recognized. Dr. Camata also recognized students’ achievements throughout the year: 

Physics Scholarship Recipients

Erika LeBakken, recipient of the H. Tiit Tohver Scholarship, which is awarded to a senior Physics major.

Jackson Carr, recipient of the Physics Faculty Scholarship, which is awarded to a junior Physics major.

2014-2015 Robert and Edith Bauman Endowed Scholarship in Physics:

Jackson Carr

Islam Khan

Priyanka Patel

Rotary Spain Hickman Estess 6860 Scholarship:

Islam Khan

God at the Speed of Light Scholarship:

           Erika LeBakken

Alabama Space Grant Consortium Scholarship Recipients:

Jackson Carr

William Davis Haselden

UAB REU program:

            Lamario Williams

Wells Fargo Summer Scholarship

            Lamario Williams

American Heart Association Post-Baccalaureate fellowship at UAB:

            Jake White

Goldwater Scholarship Honorable Mention: 

Luke McClintock
Undergrad External Awardees

Dr. Camata presented certificates in recognition of undergraduates’ research efforts during the 2013-2014 Academic Year and presentations at the 2014 UAB Expo:

Hunter H Allman (Camata)

Erika J Lebakken (Nordlund)

Renny T Medved (Hilton)
Aidan O'Beirne (Jarome)
David Haselden (Eberhardt)
James Jones (Zvanut)
Joshua D Wetuski (Stanishevsky)
Chapin Cavender (Parpura) – 2nd place BEST POSTER PRESENTATION
Jake J White (Catledge) - 1st place BEST POSTER PRESENTATION 
Matthew D Sorensen (Jeffers/Camata) - 1st Place BEST ORAL PRESENTATION
Undergrad Expo Cert Awardees

He also presented certificates to our SPS officers in recognition of dedicated service to the UAB Chapter of the Society of Physics Students during the 2013-2014 Academic Year:

Jackson Carr

Renny Medved

Chapin Cavender

William Davis Haselden 

Erika LeBakken

Dr. Camata, Dr. Todd Devore, Coordinator of Undergraduate Laboratories, and Dr. Mary Ellen Zvanut, Associate Chair and Physics Graduate Program Director, announced the 2014 Physics Outstanding Students:

Ethan J White - Outstanding Physics Undergraduate
Nate Brady - Outstanding Physics TA Student
Jamin Johnston - Outstanding Physics MS Student
Nate Brady - Outstanding Physics PhD Student 
Nate Brady - Samuel B. Barker Award for Excellence in Graduate Studies nominee
Outstanding Undergrad - Ethan White                  Outstanding Grad-TA- Barker Award Student - Nate Brady
    Renato Camata & Ethan White                          Nate Brady & Mary Ellen Zvanut