Group of ethics bowl students and faculty mentor.

The UAB Philosophy Department and the Early Medical School Acceptance Program (EMSAP) sponsor two teams that compete in ethics debate competitions. UAB’s Ethics Bowl Team is coached by Dr. Josh May and competes in the Intercollegiate Ethics Bowl sponsored by the Association for Practical and Professional Ethics. The Bioethics Bowl Team is coached by Dr. Gregory Pence and competes for the Bioethics Bowl Championship held in conjunction with the National Undergraduate Bioethics Conference.

The Student Fellowship of Philosophy, a.k.a. Philosophy Club, is a collaborative effort between Philosophy Department faculty and students at UAB. The club is completely student led — students run the meetings, pick the discussion topics, etc. while faculty serve an advisory role. All students, not just philosophy majors and minors, are welcome to attend Philosophy Club meetings and become members.