CCTS is working hard behind the scenes to support the DOM-led transition to OnCore, UAB’s new clinical trials management software (CTMS). Our Center for Research Support Program (CRSP) team has trained 18 OnCore “superusers” who, in addition to serving as resident experts within their units, will also help build the infrastructure to house the data from approximately 100 clinical trials. Other CCTS staff are building study calendars and budgets and testing new components and data migration scripts as they are developed. We applaud their team spirit and unflagging dedication.

In addition to streamlined workflows for CTMS functions such as managing patient appointments and communicating payer designations to billing entities, OnCore will offer expansive new functionalities, including centralizing and tracking protocol activity from startup to closeout, enabling electronic ordering of clinical services, simplifying regulatory compliance, and allowing the transmission of study and patient data to UAB’s electronic medical record.

“We have an opportunity to use OnCore as a catalyst for transformational change in the clinical trials process at UAB,” said Robert P. Kimberly, MD, CCTS director and senior associate dean for Clinical and Translational Research in the UAB School of Medicine. “With the integration of PowerTrials and OnCore, the impact on UAB and patient care will be huge.”

As OnCore is implemented within each research area, the current system, SiteMinder, will be phased out. The first wave of implementation is scheduled for November 2017.

To learn more, visit the OnCore page on the UAB Medicine website. [Editor’s note: the original list of 18 superusers appeared in the Sept. 8 issue of DOM’s Good News e-newsletter, produced by Carolyn Walsh.]

OnCore SuperUsers and Support Team

  • Thyrza Johnson-Pulmonary
  • Stephanie Biggers-Rheumatology
  • Pamela Cunningham-ID
  • Mary Dougherty-Bergeron-ID
  • Lou Ann Faulkner-ID
  • Tomeka Wilson-ID
  • Jena Reeves-Rheumatology
  • Steven Marchman-Rheumatology
  • Rachel McMullen-ID
  • Stephanie Ledbetter-Rheumatology
  • Leigh Powell-CVD
  • Patrick Frazier-CVD
  • Lisa Williams-GI
  • Rakesha Garner-GI
  • Tiffany Grimes-Endocrinology
  • Kentress Davison-Endocrinology
  • Aras Acemgil-Preventive Medicine
  • Michelle East-Preventive Medicine
  • Courtney Jordan-CCTS
  • Penny Jester-CCTS CRSP
  • Meredith Fitz-Gerald-CCTS CRSP
  • Dawn Bryant Matthews-CTAO