2021 CTSTP CohortThe annual CCTS Clinical and Translational Science Training Program (CTSTP) has kicked off the first fully virtual iteration of this program, with a cohort of 29 participants representing the University of Alabama at Birmingham, Auburn University, and Henry Ford Hospital. This program, led by Dr. Bertha Hidalgo, convenes weekly from January to June to provide participants with more than 50 hours of didactic and interactive instruction in clinical and translational science competencies. Each session features experienced researchers and experts covering an array of topics, including ethics, clinical trials, epidemiology, and clinical and community-based research. Those who complete the course earn a certificate of participation. CTSTP can also be taken for credit towards a master’s degree in public health (EPI 680).

We are proud to introduce the following 2021 CTSTP cohort members, who represent a wide variety of disciplines and departments:

Peter Abraham, MD Surgery, UAB
Corina Catiul, MD Neurology, UAB
Joseph Crivelli, MD Urology, UAB
Janan Daniel, MS Acute Care Rehab Services, Henry Ford Hospital
Sonia Fargue, MD, PhD Urology, UAB
Richard Godby, MD Pathology, Laboratory Medicine, UAB
Francisco Gomez, MD Neurology, UAB
Linlin Gu, DVM, PhD, MBA Pulmonary, Allergy & Critical Care, UAB
Haris Hatic, DO Hematology/Oncology, UAB
Brittain Heindl, MD Cardiovascular Diseases, UAB
Rebecca Hirschhorn, PhD, ATC Kinesiology, Auburn
Sara Claire Hutchins, MD Peds - Hematology/Oncology, UAB
Pallavi Iyer, MD, FAAP Peds - Endocrinology & Diabetes, UAB
Nazia Kabani, MD Peds - Infectious Diseases, UAB
Wei Li, MD, PhD Clinical & Diagnostic Sciences, UAB
Audrey Lloyd, MD Infectious Diseases, UAB
Jared Mass, MD Radiation Oncology, UAB
Leen Matalka, MD Peds-Epidemiology, UAB
Cassidi McDaniel, BS Health Outcomes Research & Policy, Auburn
Maryam Mousavi, PhD Optometry & Vision Science, UAB
Tiara Napier, MS Radiology, UAB
Vibhu Parcha, MBBS Cardiovascular Disease, UAB
Arun Rajasekaran, MD Nephrology, UAB
Carla Rigo Lima, PT, MA Physical Therapy, UAB
Craig Schneider, MD, PhD Radiation Oncology, UAB
Nora Switchenko, MD Neonatology, UAB
Thi Kim Tran-Nguyen, PhD Genetics, UAB
Jeremey Walker, MD Infectious Diseases, UAB
Kent Willis, MD, FAAP Peds - Neonatology, UAB

For more information on this program, visit https://www.uab.edu/ccts/training-academy/trainings/ctstp.