The UAB National Alumni Society Distinguished Alumnus Award recognizes and honors a graduate of UAB who has made significant contributions to the Society and whose accomplishments and career have brought great credit to The University of Alabama at Birmingham. The honoree must hold an earned degree or certificate from UAB, be a member in good standing of the UAB National Alumni Society, and have demonstrated a continuing interest in UAB.

The recipient for the award is selected by the Board of Directors of the UAB National Alumni Society based on recommendations and nominations from the UAB administration, members of the National Alumni Society, and other groups associated with UAB.


Past Recipients of the UAB National Alumni Society Distinguished Alumnus Award

1991—Lawrence J. DeLucas, O.D., Ph.D.

1992—Richard M. Scrushy

1993—Helene Griffin Robertson

1994—William L. Roper, M.D.

1995—James H. Woodward, Ph.D.

1996—Kenneth L. Jackson

1997—Charles A. McCallum, D.M.D., M.D.

1998—Martha Warren Bidez, Ph.D.

1999—Jean A. Jacobs Kelley, Ed.D.

2000—Robert C. Chapman

2001—Tommie G. Cummings

2002—Michael S. Stephens

2003—Gail H. Cassell, Ph.D.

2004—Marie L. O’Koren, Ed.D.

2005—Mary Lynne Capilouto, D.M.D.

2006—Albert J. Tully, Jr., M.D.

2007—Ray L. Watts, M.D.

2008—Julie Hanna

2009—Linda C. Lucas, Ph.D.

2010—Marquita Davis, Ph.D.

2011—Ann Harper Arrasmith

2012—Phyllis Norton DePiano

2013—Kathryn B. Freeland

2014—Lee Price, Major General (U.S. Army, Retired)

2015—Gillian A. Goodrich

2016—Will Ferniany, Ph.D.

2017—Edward E. Partridge, M.D.