The UAB President’s Medal is designed to recognize individuals who have attained scholarly distinction and/or have rendered distinguished service to UAB. Recipients are selected by the President of UAB upon the advice and recommendation of senior university officials.  Selection as the recipient of this medal is one of the highest honors bestowed by UAB.

The award is comprised of an antique brass medallion and plaque, suitably inscribed, mounted in a cherry stand.  The UAB President’s Medal is awarded at a commencement ceremony.

Past Recipients of the UAB President's Medal

2017—Hatton C. V. Smith

2016—Kirby I. Bland, M.D.

2015—Charles A. Collat, Sr.

2015—Wayne H. Finley, Ph.D., M.D.

2013—Sergio Stagno, M.D.

2012—John J. McMahon, Jr.

2012—Louise T. Chow, Ph.D.

2011—George Howard, Dr.P.H.

2010—Michael S. Saag, M.D.

2009—Malcolm Portera, Ph.D.

2008—Basil I. Hirschowitz, M.D.

2007—Richard J. Whitley, M.D.

2006—Ina Branham Leonard, J.D.

2006—Virginia D. Gauld, Ph.D.

2005—Rachel Z. Booth, Ph.D., R.N.

2005—John M. Lyons, Ph.D.

2004—William James Koopman, M.D.

2003—Margaret M. Porter

2003—T. Michael Goodrich

2003—Julian Watts Banton

2002—Ada W. Long, Ph.D.

2001—John N. Whitaker, M.D.

2000—A. D. Pacifico, M.D.

1999—James A. Garland

1998—Odessa Woolfolk

1997—Linda Flaherty-Goldsmith

1996—William A. Sibley, Ph.D.

1995—George N. Mickwee

1994—Aaron L. Lamar, Jr., Ed.D.

1993—Albert F. LoBuglio, M.D.

1992—Juan M. Navia, Ph.D.

1991—Samuel B. Barker, Ph.D.

1990—Fred W. Sington

1989—James Hatcher

1988—Max D. Cooper, M.D.

1987—Peter Garthwaite Smith

1986—Janet Redman Hill

1986—B. Gene Bartow

1985—J. Durwood Bradley, M.D.