UAB Contacts for Compliance Questions


The following list of UAB team members may serve as a helpful resource for questions related to laws, regulations, or policies in particular topic areas.  Under most circumstances, it may be appropriate to first contact your supervisor or school/department administrator to raise an issue or address a compliance concern.  For information on the overarching University Compliance Program, contact the University Compliance Office at (205) 996-2006.

Compliance Topic

Sub-topic

Liaison

Email

Phone

Accreditation   Gregg Janowski janowski@uab.edu (205) 934-8524
Administration   School Fiscal Officer in the Dean's Office    
Alabama Ethics Law/
Personal Gifts
  Marilyn Thomas or Office of Counsel mcthomas@uab.edu (205) 934-9564
or 934-3474
Animal Research   David Cannon dgcannon@uab.edu (205) 934-7847
Behavioral Threats   Jamie Erwin jerwin7@uab.edu (205) 934-5577
Clinical Billing Community Counseling Clinic Sean Hall sbhall@uab.edu (205) 975-9392
Dentistry Kathleen Diveley kdiveley@uab.edu (205) 934-3077
Optometry Richard Stroud rstroud@uab.edu (205) 996-6038
Clinical Trials
Research Billing
  Mark Marchant marchant@uab.edu (205) 975-8333
Conflict of Interest with Research Investigator Karen Iles kiles@uab.edu (205) 975-9691
Institutional Joe Roberson jlrober@uab.edu (205) 996-6540
Data/Information Security   Brian Rivers cbrivers@uab.edu (205) 996-0208
Disability Support Services Students Allison B. Solomon asolomon@uab.edu (205) 934-4248
Employees Sherri Moultrie srmoult@uab.edu (205) 975-9973
Effort Reporting   Departmental Effort Officer (DEO)    
Employee Misconduct or Grievances   Anita Bonasera bonasera@uab.edu (205) 934-4458
or 934-4701
Equity/Diversity/
 Discrimination
Students Kasey Robinson kaseyr@uab.edu (205) 975-1252
Employees  Anita Clemon  aclemon@uab.edu (205) 975-8258
Export Control   Tom Jackson or
Marilyn Thomas
tej@uab.edu
or mcthomas@uab.edu
(205) 996-4448 or
(205) 934-9564
External Activities   School-level Reviewer in the Dean's Office    
Financial Affairs/Accountability   School Fiscal Officer or VP Financial Officer    
Gifts to UAB/Endowments/
Donations
  Tom Brannan tbrannan@uab.edu (205) 975-7240
HIPAA    Data Security HIPAA - Entity Security Coordinators    
 Patient Records HIPAA - Entity Privacy Coordinators    
Hospital Compliance   Mona Jackson tusk@uab.edu (205) 996-9884
HR/Employment Regulatory Compliance (FLSA/FMLA)   HR Records hrmrecords@uab.edu (205) 934-4408
Human Subjects Research   Leslie Cooper lcooper@uab.edu (205) 934-3789
Insurance/Risk Management   Jeannine Bailes insurance@uabmc.edu (205) 934-5552
Intellectual Property   Kathy Nugent knugent@uab.edu (205) 934-7384
Internal Audit   Greg Lemley glemley@uab.edu (205) 934-4851
International Travel Employees Penny Whiteside whiteside@uab.edu (205) 975-2438
Students Brian Johnson or Megan Talpash bejohns@uab.edu or mtalpash@uab.edu (205) 975-6611
Legal Matters   John Daniel wdaniel@uab.edu (205) 934-3474
Media or Press Inquiries   Jim Bakken jimb@uab.edu (205) 934-3887
NCAA Athletics   Corey Bray brayc@uab.edu (205) 975-3051
Nepotism   Anita Bonasera bonasera@uab.edu (205) 934-4458
or 934-4701
OSHA-Related Safety Biosafety Donna Williamson  dsw@uab.edu  (205) 934-2487
or 934-4752
Laboratory Tim Key  occmed@uab.edu  (205) 934-2487
 Workplace  Scott Shirley  sshirley@uab.edu  (205) 934-2487
Patient Safety Dentistry Kathleen Diveley kdiveley@uab.edu (205) 934-3077
Optometry Mark Swanson mswanson@uab.edu (205) 934-6769
School of Medicine Brian Bates btbates@uab.edu (205) 731-9671
Records Requests   Jim Bakken openrecords@uab.edu (205) 934-3884
Records Retention    Archives Tim Pennycuff tpenny@uab.edu (205) 934-1896
or 934-9671
Scientific/Research Records Kent Keyser ktkeyser@uab.edu (205) 934-7757
Student Records Cynthia Terry cterry@uab.edu (205) 934-8112
University Records Marilyn Thomas mcthomas@uab.edu (205) 934-9564
Reporting Wrongful Conduct/Ethics Hotline   Teresa Bragg teresabragg@uab.edu (205) 934-5422
Responsible Conduct of Research (RCR)   Lisa Schwiebert lschwieb@uab.edu (205) 934-3970
Safety of Persons on
Campus
Emergency UAB Police UABPD-PoliceDept@mail.ad.uab.edu (205) 934-3535
 Non-emergency  Jamie Erwin jerwin7@uab.edu (205) 934-5577
Scientific Misconduct   Pam Bounelis bounelis@uab.edu (205) 934-9693
Sponsored Programs    Grants and Contracts Administration Melinda Cotten mcotten@uab.edu (205) 934-5266
Grants and Contracts Accounting Debbie Snider deb@uab.edu (205) 934-9330
Clinical Trials Administration Mark Marchant marchant@uab.edu (205) 975-8333
Student Misconduct or Grievances   Mary Wallace marywall@uab.edu (205) 934-4175
Student Records/FERPA   Cynthia Terry  cterry@uab.edu  (205) 934-8112
Title IX    Athletics Katreshia Verrett kverrett@uab.edu (205) 975-6283
Employees Anita Bonasera bonasera@uab.edu (205) 934-4458
or 934-4701
Students Kasey Robinson kaseyr@uab.edu (205) 996-1340
University Contracts     uabcontracts@uab.edu (205) 934-0387