Internal Advisory Committee: This committee will meet semi-annually to review and provide input on candidates and trainee progress.

John Waterbor, MD, DrPH
Associate Professor of Epidemiology                              
Associate CPCTP Director (1991 – 2008)                                             

Mona Fouad, MD, MPH
Professor and Director, Division of Preventive Medicine
Director, UAB Minority Health & Health Disparities Research Center   
Senior Associate Dean for Diversity and Inclusion

Lalita Schevde-Samant, PhD
Professor of Pathology                                                           
Associate Director of Education and Training of the UAB Comprehensive Cancer Center                           

Lisa Schweibert, PhD                                                           
Professor of Cell, Developmental and Integrative Biology
Associate Dean for Graduate and Postdoctoral Affairs

External Advisory Committee
: The external advisory board will meet annually to review the program and its progress

Victoria Champion PhD, RN, FAAN (Chair) is a Distinguished Professor of Nursing, the  Edward and Sarah Stam Cullipher Endowed Chair, and the Associate Director of Cancer Control and Population Science at Indiana University Siteman Cancer Center. Dr. Champion is recognized internationally as an expert in behavioral oncology research and is an accomplished senior mentor with significant leadership in cancer.

Shine Chang, PhD is Distinguished Teaching Professor and Professor within the Department of Epidemiology at the University of Texas – M.D. Anderson Cancer Center (UT-MDACC).  Dr. Chang is well known for her innovative approach in creating career development programs for early career scientists, and junior faculty.  As an example, she is credited with founding the highly successful ASPO Early Career Member’s group that organizes activities at ASPO annual meetings that are attended by nearly one-third of meeting participants. In addition, Dr. Chang has led the Association of American Medical College's Group on Women in Medicine Programs that offer educational opportunities on grantsmanship, scientific writing, research mentoring, and mostly recently on the prevention of burn-out and development of resilience.  

Karen Patricia Williams, PhD is Distinguished Professor of Women's Health in the School of Nursing and  Director of the Center for Women, Children, and Youth at The Ohio State University. Dr. Williams is a key member of AACE and has been elected to several leadership positions within this organization.  A strong advocate for training and education among minorities, Dr. Williams also plays a vital role (and is a role model) in guiding our program which has substantial representation of minority scholars.