Primary Mentors

Athar, Mohammed, PhD
Professor, Dermatology
Chemo-prevention of UVB-induced skin cancer

mathar@uabmc.edu

Bakitas, Marie, DNSc, NP
Professor, Nursing
Palliative care, disparities research, Community-Based Participatory Research
mbakitas@uab.edu


Baskin, Monica, PhD
Professor, Preventive Medicine
Lifestyle interventions in underserved populations
mbaskin@uab.edu


Bhatia, Smita, MD, MPH
Professor, Pediatrics
Cancer survivorship and late effects
sbhatia@peds.uab.edu

Brown, Elizabeth, PhD
Professor, Molecular and Cellular Pathology
Epidemiology of lymphoma and multiple myeloma
elbrown@uab.edu

Cropsey, Karen, PhD
Associate Professor, Psychology
Smoking cessation interventions
kcropsey@uab.edu

Demark-Wahnefried, Wendy, PhD, RD
Professor, Nutrition Sciences
Dietary interventions in cancer populations
demark@uab.edu

Dutton, Gareth, PhD
Associate Professor, Preventive Medicine
Weight loss interventions in high risk populations
gdutton@uab.edu

Elk, Ronit, PhD
Professor, Geriatrics, Gerontology and Palliative Care
Palliative care, disparities research, Community-Based Participatory Research
elkronit@uab.edu

Elmets, Craig, MD
Professor, Dermatology
Chemoprevention of skin cancers
celmets@uabmc.edu

Fontaine, Kevin, PhD
Professor, Preventive Medicine
Lifestyle interventions in high risk populations
kfontai1@uab.edu

Fouad, Mona, MD, PhD
Professor, Preventive Medicine
Cancer disparities
mfouad@uab.edu

Gower, Barbara, PhD
Professor, Nutrition Sciences
Dietary interventions in breast, brain and ovarian cancer
bgower@uab.edu

Grizzle, William, MD, PhD
Professor, Anatomic Pathology
Biomarkers of cancer risk and progression
wgrizzle@uab.edu

Kedishvl, Natalia, PhD
Professor, Biochemistry and Molecular Genetics
Retinol/sterol metabolism in chemoprevention
nkedishvili@uab.edu

Landier, Wendy, PhD
Associate Professor, Pediatrics
Health outcomes in cancer survivorship
wlandier@peds.uab.edu

Manne, Upender, PhD
Professor, Anatomic Pathology
Health disparities in colorectal cancer
manne@uab.edu

Messiaen, Ludwine, PhD
Professor, Clinical Genetics
Genotype-phenotype associations in schwannomas
lmessiaen@uab.edu

Norian, Lyse, PhD
Associate Professor, Nutrition Sciences
Immuno-modulating lifestyle interventions
lnorian@uab.edu

Jeevan Prasain, PhD
Associate Professor, Pharmacology and Toxicology
Bioactive dietary natural products in the prevention of cancer
jprasain@uab.edu

Rogers, Laura, MD, MPH
Professor, Nutrition Sciences
Physical activity interventions in cancer survivors
rogersl@uab.edu

Scarinci, Isabel, PhD
Professor, Preventative Medicine
Prevention in high risk populations and global health
scarinci@uab.edu

Slominski, Andrzej, MD, PhD
Professor, Dermatology
Neuroendocrinology of the skin cancer
aslominski@uabmc.edu

Tollefsbol, Trygve, PhD, DO
Professor, Biology
Epigenetic modulation of cancer risk via botanicals
trygve@uab.edu

Yusuf, Nabiha, PhD, MPH
Professor, Dermatology
Interferon prevention of photo-carcinogenesis
nabiha@uab.edu


Secondary Mentors

Afaq, Farrukh, PhD
Assistant Professor, Dermatology
Photocarcinogenesis, photoaging and other hyperproliferative and inflammatory skin diseases
farrukhafaq@uabmc.edu

Atigadda, Venkatram, PhD
Assistant Professor, Chemistry
Design and development of novel rexinoids, retinoids, and their mechanistic studies
venkatra@uab.edu

Carson, Tiffany, PhD
Assistant Professor, Preventive Medicine
Weight control intervention in African Americans
tiffanycarson@uabmc.edu

Coric, Tatjana, Ph.D
Assistant Professor, Pharmacology and Toxicology
Cancer prevention, chemotherapeutics, non-coding RNAs, high-throughput screening
tcoric@uab.edu

Ojesina, Akinyemi, MD, PhD
Associate Professor, Health Behavior
Genomics and infection-related cancers
ojesina@uab.edu

Pekmezi, Dorothy, PhD
Assistant Professor, Epidemiology
Exercise interventions in underserved populations
dpekmezi@uab.edu

Pisu, Maria, PhD
Associate Professor, Preventive Medicine
Health economics, financial toxicity in cancer patients
mpisu@uabmc.edu

Rocque, Gabrielle, MD
Assistant Professor, Epidemiology
Enhancing shared decision making in metastatic breast cancer
grocque@uab.edu

Triebel, Kristen, PhD
Associate Professor, Medicine
Decision-making in brain cancer patients
kgerstenecker@uabmc.edu

Waterbor, John, MD
Associate Professor, Epidemiology
Cancer epidemiology – cancer clusters
h2obor@uab.edu