The School of Dentistry Faculty Council consists of seven full time faculty, four of whom are elected by the faculty (three with primary appointments within the School of Dentistry and one with a primary appointment in a Joint Health Science Department). Terms are for three years.

Message from the Chair

Greetings UAB School of Dentistry Faculty,

We are all part of an amazing, hardworking team! I’ve been at the SOD for 10 years, 5 years as faculty, and I have seen again and again how we rise to every challenge. From new budget models, to the onset and continuation of a global pandemic, and a recent successful accreditation visit. And of course, continual improvement for the education and growth of our dental students and residents. As the current Chair of the Faculty Council I want to remind you we are here to support you. We are available to listen to your suggestions and concerns. It is our job to advocate for your continued support.

Hope M. Amm, Ph.D.


  • Function as the executive committee of the faculty and as the advisory board to the Dean on matters of faculty affairs and matters pertaining to academic and administrative policies.
  • Serve as a nominating committee for school-wide elected positions by preparing a slate and official ballot of at least two eligible faculty members for each position who have given their consent to serve if elected.
  • Study and evaluate the current ethics code, its effectiveness, and its acceptance by students and faculty, and make recommendations to the Dean.
  • Review the School of Dentistry Faculty Handbook and make recommendations for revisions to the Dean, after consultation with appropriate faculty groups.
  • Act as a committee for a student’s appeal of academic decisions.
  • Submit an annual report of activities to the Dean’s Office each calendar year.


Dr. Hope Amm

Hope Amm


Chair (elected, 2023)

Dr. Shandra Coble

Shandra Coble


Vice Chair (elected, 2024)

Dr. Nada Souccar

Nada Souccar

D.D.S., M.S.

Immediate Past Chair (elected, 2022)

Dr. Chin-Chuan Fu

Chin-Chuan Fu

D.D.S., M.S.

(appointed, 2023)

Dr. Augusto Robles

Augusto Robles

D.D.S., M.S., D.M.D.

(appointed, 2022)

Dr. Rama Kiran Chavali

Rama Kiran Chavali

B.D.S., M.S.

(appointed, 2024)

Dr. Heather Bruns

Heather Bruns


JHS Representative (elected)

Dr. Edward Bradford

Edward Bradford

D.D.S., M.P.H.

UAB Faculty Senate Representative (ex officio)


Learn more about the UAB Faculty Senate