Name of Committee: Radioisotope Radiation Safety Committee (RRSC)

Primary Function: The Radioisotope Radiation Safety Committee must approve, in advance, the manner in which all radioactive materials and radiation producing machines are licensed, purchased/registered, stored, used, transferred, and disposed.

Chair Name: Sharon White, Ph.D.

Committee Contact Person: Robert Heath, Jr., Director of Radiation Safety

Phone number: 205-934-2487
Email address:

Topic of interest:
The Radioisotope Radiation Safety Committee (RRSC) is comprised of members from throughout the University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB) administrative, research and medical communities. This membership encompasses a very extensive degree of expertise in a comprehensive arena of disciplines. The Committee reports to the President of UAB and meets quarterly to conduct business relating to the use, handling, transfer, etc. of radioactive materials and radiation producing machines here at the UAB. If you have questions about the Committee or have topics of interest for the Committee, please contact Robert Heath, Jr., the UAB Radiation Safety Officer, at (205) 934-2487 or

Forms or Guides
UAB Radiation Safety Procedures Manual
UAB Laser Safety Manual

Rules of the Alabama Department of Public Health Office of Radiation Control
UAB IRB (Institutional Review Board)

Meeting Dates:
The RRSC meets once each quarter and will convene special meetings if the need arises. Usually the meeting dates fall on the last Thursday of the month following each quarter.

The meeting dates for 2020 are as follows:
January 30
April 30
July 30
October 29

Meeting Minutes:
The RRSC meeting minutes are not usually made available for public disclosure. However, please contact the UAB Radiation Safety Officer or the UAB Assistant Radiation Safety Officer at 205-934-2487 should you need assistance.